Guess who turned 92 yesterday?!

5 Aug

He lives on his own, drives his own car, buys his groceries, and attends Mass every day.  He is one of the most godly men I know.  He puts God first, no matter what, and treats everyone in the way that Christ would treat them.

I am honored to call him my grandpa.  If you know my grandpa, then you know that he is one of the most thoughtful men in the world.  He is a self-taught handy man.  He can fix pretty much anything.  When I was little, he and my grandma, (who passed away a few years ago) would come visit.  He would work on projects around the house for my mom, and would read to us kids.  One day when I was about fifteen, grandpa was outside in our backyard, and came back in the house with a rose and gave it to me – a simple gesture of love.  He has always been that way – thinking of other people and putting their needs before his own.

One of my most vivid memories of my grandpa is from when I was about 8 or 9 years old.  I was spending the day with him and my grandma and we were in the car driving near their house.  My grandpa saw a car pulled off to the side of the road with car trouble, and my grandpa pulled off the road to help him.  He looked at his car with the guy He helped him and gave him some cash to get supplies for his car.  I remember thinking how generous and selfless my grandpa was to that man.  He is like that to his friends, family, and total strangers.

My grandpa and I have “date nights” at his house where he fixes us dinner and we talk and sometimes look at the atlas and talk about history, or watch an old timey tv show.  A few years ago, I taught religious education once a week at the Catholic church near his house.  I would drive over after teaching, and we would talk about everything from the Catholic faith, to geography, to the economy, and politics.  To this day, I love going to his house for our Grandpa/granddaughter date nights.  He refuses to let me wash the dishes, and he cooks everything before I come so that it’s hot and ready to eat when I get there.  For dessert we almost always have ice cream – we both LOVE ice cream 🙂  He tells jokes and we laugh until we have tears in our eyes.  His favorite phrase is, “Are we having fun or WHAT?!!”

Yesterday we celebrated grandpa’s 92nd birthday!!  We met up for dinner – we, as in all six of his children, their spouses, and most of the 40 grandkids!  Below is a picture of one of my cousins, my grandpa, and me.  My cousin shares a birthday with my grandpa.  She turned five.  (She was soo proud of her earrings and the pink ring on her finger 🙂 )

IMG_2646[1]

Here’s to my grandpa!!!  May God continue to bless him with health, happiness and holiness!!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

