Ideas for summertime fun!

3 May

5ac1e-notalone5

Summer is coming and this time of year brings with it many outdoor community events and opportunities to volunteer and meet people in our neighborhoods and communities.  We have lots of opportunities for self-growth, networking, and for just having fun.  What are some of the community events in your area?  How do you hope to volunteer or participate in these events?  Let’s share ideas!”

 

Summertime is my favorite time of year.  I love being outdoors.  There are all sorts of festivals, drive-in movies, and biking and running events in my local community.  Even our neighborhood has a neighborhood party!  Every summer the downtown community comes together for two weeks to put on a festival that draws in thousand of people every year.  There are competitions, fireworks, local art vendors, musicians, food, and it’s tons of fun.

The summer is the perfect time (in my opinion) to have some fun, and meet new people!  I usually go to the downtown festival and the outdoor amphitheater for movies, as well as the Germanfest and the two-week-long festival (which, by the way, includes an amazing display of chalk artists who compete for a prize.)

I am a member a book club that meets up every month to talk about a book and share ideas, and this coming weekend, in honor of the warm weather coming, we are going to have an ice cream night, in addition to reading the book of Ruth, and the night will be topped off with a partial viewing of the classic “Anne of Green Gables.”

I’m also a member of the local Frassati Group, (check the website I linked to to see if there is a Frassati Group in your area) which is named after Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati.  A few weeks ago we had a wine and canvas night, which was super fun, not to mention that I met some new young adults and made some connections.  The Frassati Group is also have an upcoming scavenger hunt during which we will be given a list of places to find in town.  Then after an hour, we will all reconvene, and the car that has the most items checked off gets a prize.  They are going to have everyone mix and mingle in different cars so that we get a chance to meet new people.

What do you have planned for the summer?  What local events or volunteer opportunities are in your area?  How do you like to get connected with your community?  Let’s chat!  Link up below!!

Thanks for joining today!

Rachel

6 Responses to “Ideas for summertime fun!”

  1. Lindsay Wilcox May 3, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

    Your book club counts a book of the Bible as a “book”? That’s awesome! I taught the Book of Ruth as a short story, and although I was surprised to find it in my World Literature textbook, I was delighted at the opportunity to make the Bible relevant. (It was a Catholic school, so no “church and state” worries there.)

  2. Trudi Rose May 4, 2016 at 11:02 am #

    Sounds like a fun book club! I’m still trying to talk my book club into continuing to meet over the summer. Not sure how successful I will be! My #1 goal in the summer is to spend as much time outside as possible, but I don’t actually attend too many community events. Maybe I should try to change that this year…

  3. Rfog May 4, 2016 at 10:27 pm #

    Hi Lindsay! Yes, we are reading the book of Ruth. I don’t know if I’ve read it before but I’m looking forward to it. That’s cool that you got to teach the book of Ruth it as part of your class. Which book of the Bible is your favorite?

    • Lindsay Wilcox May 4, 2016 at 11:09 pm #

      I love Luke + Acts. I think those should count as one. 😉

  4. Rfog May 4, 2016 at 10:34 pm #

    Hi Trudi! Thanks for stopping by! I enjoy reading too – I could read all summer long 🙂 As long as I’m outside, of course 😉 What a great goal to spend as much time as possible outside! It’s so nice as it warms up to just soak it all in. What events are there in your local community? If you take a friend with you to your community events, it can be easier to socialize and meet people because you have someone to enjoy the fun with, and also to make an easy exit with if necessary 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not Alone Series: Summer Plans | Lindsay Loves - May 3, 2016

    […] Link up with Rachel at Keeping It Real. […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

