Beauty talk time!

12 Apr

NAS

Welcome to Tuesday NAS!  Grab the link-up button at the bottom of the page and join me in our conversation about beauty!

Beauty is innate in every woman. The desire to be beautiful is at the core of our femininity. We dress and wear makeup to enhance our natural facial features and to look pretty. We all love feeling beautiful but sometimes we lack the energy to put a cute outfit together or to wear makeup. What are your go-to tips and tricks for easy and fun outfits and makeup ideas? What are your thoughts on too much or too little makeup? Is there such a thing? Does dressing with purpose and wearing makeup make you feel more beautiful? What do you do that makes you feel beautiful?”

 

God created us women with an intrinsic beauty.  We are both physically beautiful and interiorly beautiful.  We are creative, caring, nurturing, thoughtful, compassionate, and we all have different hair colors, body builds, and facial features (to name a few.)  There is something of a mystery about beauty.  One of the main things that attracts men to women is beauty.  Interestingly, we use the word “beauty” to describe a woman and don’t (typically haha) use the word “beauty” to describe a man (we typically use the words “handsome”, “cute”, “good-looking”).  Beauty is specific even to our femininity!  Amazing, right?!   Your beauty is innate in your very being.  And that, my friend, is an encouraging thought!

Now, as women, we love feeling and looking beautiful.  Sometimes we have plenty of time to put ourselves together before going out somewhere and other times we struggle to have the motivation to put on makeup, let alone put a cute outfit together.  It’s good to note that our beauty, while innate, also needs cultivated and tended to.  Now, let’s face it.  Most of us are looking for Mr. Man.  Why not increase your chances of getting his attention with a cute, pretty and flattering outfit?!  And while you’re at it, how about a dash of lipstick and some heels?  It’s super fun and girly!

I follow these guidelines for “before I leave the house” for quick and simple “put together” look:

  • Wear make-up:  A couple years ago I read a book titled “For Women Only” by Shaunti Feldhahn.  She mentions a survey taken by a group of men.  Every man said that he appreciated when women put effort into their appearance.  The survey also indicated that the guys thought that it was a sign of respect for the men because it showed that the ladies cared about their appearance.  I know make-up isn’t for everyone, but I find that I feel more confident and put-together when I wear eye liner, mascara and lipstick at the very least. Why not enhance your already beautiful features with some complimentary colors!  I have gotten into the habit of wearing lipstick (red) and I LOVE it!!  I feel like I can conquer the world when I wear lipstick!
  • Dress up!  It’s fun being stylish!  So many fun, sassy and classy clothes to choose from.  You don’t have to spend a fortune or even a lot of time to dress up before leaving your house.  Heck, you can even dress up for your own self-enjoyment!  (I’ve done that before too.)  You can dress up your jeans with a pair of heels and a necklace or you can throw on some lipstick and earrings – do what makes you feel beautiful!

image

                                       (This is me in my way to a friend’s wedding recently.)

In today’s prompt, I asked the question if there is a such a thing as too much makeup.  My response is “yes” but it depends on who you’re talking to.  I wouldn’t recommend wearing so much blush that your cheeks have big pink circles on them, but I would suggest finding a blush color that compliments your skin tone to give you the “blushed” look.  Play with eye shadow colors.  I look good in creams and pinks, and the occasional blue, but I would suggest finding the right color for you.  There is something to be said for wearing makeup.  It enhances your natural beauty and there is nothing wrong with that.  Would you agree?!!

Dressing with purpose and wearing makeup DOES make me feel beautiful.  Let me tell you – dressing up, styling my hair, and wearing makeup does wonders to my self-confidence.  It makes me feel like I’ve got what it takes.  I love putting cute outfits together, and mix-and-matching shoes, jewelry and makeup to create just the right look for the occasion.  I actually recently had a dear friend come over to be my fashion consultant for an afternoon to help me figure out how to mix and match the items in my closet.  It was super fun and she gave me some good ideas for using my wardrobe more effectively.

Now it’s your turn!  What are some of your tips and tricks for selecting a stylish outfit or for wearing makeup?  Do you have any pointers for people like myself who like to put myself together in 1/2 hour or less?  Please comment below!!  And if you have your own blog, you can link up here:   An InLinkz Link-up and link to Lindsay’s blog too! 

Love,

Rachel

4 Responses to “Beauty talk time!”

  1. Laura @ A Drop in the Ocean April 13, 2016 at 2:28 pm #

    You’re beautiful, Rachel! This is a great prompt. I have similar make-up habits, and enjoy dressing nicely. How I dress really makes a different to how I approach life! And I like how you mentioned figuring out how to mix and match things . . . that would be so much easier if Granimals existed for adults. Haha! For getting ready quickly, I highly recommend picking your outfit the night before and laying everything out (even jewelry and shoes). That’s helped me cut down on time and frantic last minute changes in the morning 🙂

    • Rfog April 14, 2016 at 10:55 pm #

      Awe, thanks Laura 🙂 I have done that too where I pick out my outfit the night before and it’s so nice! I LOVE mix and matching – I really do enjoy putting outfits together, unless I’m dressing to impress, in which case I tend to get stressed out haha 🙂 You are beautiful too!!

  2. Lindsay Wilcox April 17, 2016 at 10:56 pm #

    Hmm, I have found Mr. Man for myself at the moment. We met by way of What I Wore Sunday, which is all about dressing up for church. True story!

    Men always get a bad rap for not noticing what women wear, but they do notice about as far as you mentioned. They can tell when you tried (and succeeded). The good ones don’t mind if you *don’t* try sometimes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not Alone Series: Beauty | Lindsay Loves - April 17, 2016

    […] Link up with Rachel at Keeping It Real. […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

