Photo ops with Auntie Rachel and hiking trails

20 Mar

It’s been a busy past few weeks.  I say that a lot, but it’s true.  My schedule is pretty busy, and like it that way.    When I have to miss out on a cookout or dinner with friends because I have previous plans, I feel like I’m missing out and I don’t like that.  I like being part of the action.

A few weeks ago my handsome dude B. and I went to visit my oldest brother and his family.  They live about four hours away, so they’re close enough for an easy visit, and far enough to make a weekend of it.

IMG_1996[1]

 

 

IMG_2006[1]

The boys with me and B.

 

IMG_2014[1]

Silly selfie!!!

 

IMG_2022[1]

This picture was an attempt to get us and all the kiddos into a selfie together.  We got everyone except the youngest niece.  The baby was a trooper the whole time, and in this picture, he decided to show just his fuzzy little head of baby hair – haha!!!

 

IMG_2002[1]

Take a close look at this picture.  That little dot on my left cheek?  That is a nerf dart being held up by one of the kids.  LOL!!  When I saw this picture for the first time I laughed out loud.  Those kids are a barrel of monkeys and LOVE being pranksters.

 

IMG_2032[1]

I love this picture of me and M.

When B. and I left my brother’s house, we stopped at a State Park and hiked for a while.   It was fun, and little did we realize that by the time we got back to the car, we had been hiking for four hours!  Time flies when you’re having fun!

Our view from the top:

IMG_2037[1].JPG

IMG_2040[1].JPG

IMG_2041[1]

A woodpecker hole in the tree

IMG_2042[1].JPG

This was one of my absolute favorite photos of the hiking trip.  Isn’t that woods stunningly beautiful??!

IMG_2049[1].JPG

I love these skyward photos – doesn’t the tree look HUGE?!!  I guess it actually was!

IMG_2053[1].JPG

I’m not sure what this little green thing is, but it was cute, so I took a picture of it.

 

 

 

IMG_2055[1]

And another cute little tree/bush thing.

IMG_2062[1]

We blazed our own trail….and my fear of heights……*gulp* yeah.   I almost cried I was so scared.  I just followed my fearless leader and we made it down the steep incline in one piece.  The picture doesn’t do the incline justice. 

 

IMG_2059[1]

Safely at the bottom of the hill and a close-up of the river

 

 

 

 

IMG_2060[1]

Me and my courageous trail-blazer ❤

IMG_2064[1]

IMG_2065[1]

We thought about crossing the river on this log, but it was waaay too wobbly, so we stayed put 😉

IMG_2067[1]

One of my favorite things about hiking is the gnarly roots that dot the path.  I wonder how many people have crossed over these roots?

IMG_2071[1]

A view from the covered bridge at the State Park

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_2073[1].JPG

We caught a glimpse of the water dam before the sun went down.  How pretty!

I didn’t think to get a picture of it, but at one point on our hike, we came across a really big mud puddle.  I attempted to skirt the mud puddle by jumping on some leaves off to the side of the puddle.  The leaves looked safe….but little did I realize that the mud puddle was also under the leaves,  LOL.  Into the mud puddle I lunged!  Just one shoe and sock got muddy and wet.  Thankfully it was warm enough outside that the wet stock and shoe didn’t bother me much.  We finished the hike talking about when we can take our next hike.  I can’t wait!

And that’s all for now. Do you like to go hiking?  Do you have any funny and fun memorable hiking stories?  I’d love to hear them!  Leave me a comment below!

~Rachel~

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Photo ops with Auntie Rachel and hiking trails”

  1. laurarene05 March 21, 2016 at 4:46 pm #

    This post makes me happy!! 😀

  2. LauraMarieForLife March 21, 2016 at 10:44 pm #

    Aw, I love how you love being an aunt. I can’t wait to get started on that adventure later this year! That nerf bullet in the photo is hilarious. Kids are so fun.

    A hiking story? I did “The Incline” in CO over a break. And I did not realize what that entailed beforehand (which is good because I might have said no). It was something like a mile vertically up and I don’t know how many thousands of steps on this giant never-ending staircase. Maybe I’m exaggerating, but it was crazy! We had to stop every dozen steps when we got into it because you get so winded being at such a high elevation. It took us something like two hours to get up, soooo we definitely gave up on trying to make a record. Ha! The four mile hike down the path was a breeze compared to that.

    I love being busy too. Glad you were able to get away for some niece/nephew time and an adventure in nature too!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

