A journey through books

23 Feb

NAS

Have you ever found a book that you just couldn’t put down and recommended it to every friend and co-worker?  Books are a HUGE weakness for me.  And I’m looking for some suggested reading this year.  Linking up with Lindsay today as we write about books – they’re so good I could almost eat them!  (haha……..but seriously.)

Today’s writing prompt: We all enjoy new reading material, and this year a reading goal just may be on your list of goals. What book genre(s) do you like the most? Do you borrow books from your local library, purchase them for current and future reading, or do you read e-books? What are some books that you loved reading and that you would recommend?

At the beginning of the year I wrote about my quest to satiate my thirst for wisdom and knowledge.  My goal for the year is to read a lot of books, a wide variety of books, and to grow in wisdom and knowledge.  I like autobiographies and biographies, women fiction, children’s books (probably honestly one of my favorites!  The pictures and stories are just too cute!  And I may or may not collect children’s books for my future children 🙂 )  I also enjoy a good historical novel, trivia books, and Catholic theology books.

I usually have enough books in my house to find one to choose from, but I currently have a few from the library, including “Grain Brain” by David Perlmutter and Kristin Loberg.  This book talks about the pros and cons of eating wheat and other grains.  Another book I’m reading called “These Beautiful Bones” by Emily Stimpson, talks about living the message of Theology of the Body in our day-to-day lives.

One book I’ve enjoyed reading that actually took me by surprise is a historical novel called “Lewis and Clark: Pioneering Naturalists.”  If you ever get your hands on a book about Lewis and Clark, I would highly recommend reading it!  Their stories of discovery in early America are phenomenal!

I don’t read many e-books, but recently read part of a book called “Soul, Mind, and Heart” by Cardinal Timothy Dolan.  In this book he points out the “soul” of our late, now saint, Pope John Paul II, the “mind” of Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI, and the “heart” of Pope Francis.  It’s a good read, and pretty short, and simple enough that the average theologian reader, such as myself, can read it with ease.

A couple weekends ago I went to a local thrift store and happened upon a gold mine of children’s books.  One of my favorites was a book full of Dr. Seuss stories.  And.  AND!  A book by Gyo Fujikawa.  Her illustrations are some of the sweetest and cutest I’ve ever seen.  So DOUBLE SCORE!!  And yay for my future children 🙂  😉

Last year I read “Something Other Than God” by atheist convert to Catholicism, Jennifer Fulwiler, and absolutely LOVED it.  I couldn’t put it down.  I took it to work with me, read it on my breaks, brought it back home, and read until 2:30 in the morning.  I would highly recommend her book!  It’s powerful, moving, and will re-convict you in your faith life.

Now it’s your turn!  What are some of your favorite books?  I need some more recommendations for this year.  Comment below, s’il vous plait.  Next, head over to Lindsay’s to see what books she recommends!

NAS is excited to welcome guest hosts for the month of March!  First up is the lovely Britt Leigh of Proverbial Girlfriend.  Be sure to pay her a visit next Tuesday.  Next week’s topic: What Brings You Peace?  Hobbies?  Reading?  Crafting? 

Talk to you again soon.

-Rachel

 

 

9 Responses to “A journey through books”

  1. Mira February 24, 2016 at 4:00 am #

    Thank you for these suggestions. these past few months I read an excellent book published by people from the Moth project, now I’m reading Just Kids by Patti Smith (very good) . . . I’m also reading Keep Still, a biography of photographer Sally Mann (one chapter is rather shocking but she’s a good writer) . . . I’m also reading Anna Jean Mayhew, The Dry Grass of August, about the South in the fifties (interesting) . . . have finished Life and Other Near-Death Experiences by Camille Pagan (women’s fiction, rather good), and the list goes on 🙂

    • Rfog March 6, 2016 at 10:28 pm #

      Thank you for your book recommendations, Mira! I will have to check those out. Have you ever read “The Help?” It sounds like the book you mentioned “The Dry Grass of August.” The “Life and Other Near-Death Experiences” book sounds funny. Happy reading!

      • Mira March 8, 2016 at 6:25 am #

        I haven’t read The Help because I watched the movie 😉

  2. LauraMarieForLife February 24, 2016 at 11:38 pm #

    Yay books! I like your goal of reading a variety of books, because I mostly stick with faith-related stuff. Hmmm. Ebooks are not my thing. There’s just something about that smell and feel of a real life book in this digital age 🙂 I like to underline and annotate mine too, which is different online. Conversion stories are something I enjoy too. SOTG was great! I really like Surprised by Truth. I read Project Conversion which was interesting, but definitely calls for a sequel. Aren’t those books that you stay up for just the BEST?! Also, I think that’s hilarious to be saving books for future kids now. Who can pass up a good deal? Love it!

    • Rfog March 6, 2016 at 10:36 pm #

      Real books are definitely my preference too. I HIGHLY suggest the book called “For Women Only.” I’ve read it before and just reserved it again through our library loan program. It’s a must-read! It’s what women need to know about the interior lives of men (sounds weird but really insightful and good.) The children’s book collection of mine – I can’t pass up a good deal – they are part of my hope chest collection for the future ❤

  3. Nikki February 28, 2016 at 5:28 pm #

    I have “These Beautiful Bones” but I haven’t read it yet, looking forward to it though. E-books are my thing since it helps me to read as much as I do since I always have a book with me so if I’m stuck somewhere I can catch up on my reading, I still like “real” books for some of my reading though.
    Totally get reading until 2:30 in the morning even with the same book when I read it.

    • Rfog March 6, 2016 at 10:40 pm #

      Hi Nikki! Let me know how you like “These Beautiful Bones.” I skipped through the book and read bits here and there, and one of my favorite chapters was Chapter 3 “The Joy of Labor, Laundry and Lice” – it’s humorous and practical 🙂

  4. Lindsay Wilcox March 10, 2016 at 1:50 pm #

    Jen’s book was awesome! Have you read anything by C.S. Lewis? Narnia is great, but his adult nonfiction is spectacular. I wish I could re-read “Mere Christianity” more often!

    • Rfog March 21, 2016 at 12:07 am #

      A couple years ago I read “The Great Divorce”, recommended by my boss, and I really enjoyed reading it. It was one of those books that was so intellectually stimulating that it was hard to put down.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

