Tips for Parish and Community Involvement

16 Feb

9b5b5-notalone5

Hello Friends,

How are you?  I hope you’re staying warm and cozy this week 🙂

As we can probably all agree, becoming involved in your parish and your community can be a challenge.  Today’s discussion is about how to find your niche in those areas.  If you’re reading along, please comment and share your thoughts!  (Gents, you’re welcome to comment too 🙂 )  If you’re linking up, you’ll find the link at the bottom of the page.  Here is the discussion prompt for today:

As a single lady, how do you find your niche in your parish, church, and community? How do you hope to expand your community this year? What are some suggestions for those of us looking for a way to find a community? Lent might just be the perfect time to try something new—what do you recommend?

When I first moved to town almost seven years ago, I barely knew anyone in the area besides my sister and brother, who were already living in town (and whom I shared a house with.)  I found it easy to join my sister when she went to meet up with friends, but I still needed to find my niche.

So, what did I do?  I ventured into the local community, both at large and at church.  I joined a volleyball team through the Parks and Recreation system, became a youth group leader at a local parish and taught religious education to 5th and 6th graders, and slowly began to meet other adults through these avenues.  Believe it or not, over the course of three years, I met and dated a couple different guys who I met through these volunteer experiences.

This year, I hope to become more involved in a book club group close by.  I’ve known the women in this group for a long time, but don’t make it to the book club very often.  I’m hoping to devote more time to the book club and to getting to know these ladies and their families this year.

If you’re looking for a way to get more involved in your community or church, check the community calendar or parish bulletin to see what events are taking place, and step out.  Keep an eye out for event postings at the local restaurants and pubs.  My sisters and I were at a pub last weekend and found a local event that looks neat, so we took a picture of the poster and are planning to go!

Before you leave for the events, put on your heels, style your hair, smooth on some lipstick, and enjoy yourself.  Keep an easy smile on your face and focus on what you can add to the conversation to make it more lively/fun/relaxed.  You’ll walk away with a bigger smile and more confidence for the next time out!  Believe me, I’ve tried it, and it works!  (Was I nervous?  Yes.  And was it worth it?   Yes.)

Now it’s your turn!  What do you recommend for those of us looking for more community or parish involvement?  Comment and link up below!

 

Next week’s 2/23 topic:

We all enjoy new reading material and this year a reading goal just may be on your list of goals.  What book genre(s)do you like the most?  Do you borrow books from your local library, purchase them for current and future reading, or do you read e-books?  What are some books that you loved reading and that you would recommend? 

7 Responses to “Tips for Parish and Community Involvement”

  1. followingfaith528 February 16, 2016 at 12:46 pm #

    Your entry is full of great reminders. I often get to nervous to step out and take

  2. LauraMarieForLife February 17, 2016 at 12:36 am #

    Yeeees! This is so good to read as I approach this transition after graduation in a few months. Bring on the experience! This is what I’ve been thinking too – I’ve just got to insert myself into those activities and find a niche 🙂

  3. Beth Anne February 17, 2016 at 8:53 pm #

    I often forget about bulletin boards. Sometimes at starbucks or panera I find some good information for things to do. There’s so many hidden ways to find out about community events.

  4. Lindsay February 18, 2016 at 10:44 pm #

    Gettin’ pretty is a great tip! Aside from never knowing when you might meet the man of your dreams, you feel better about yourself when you’ve taken the time for a little extra polish. At least I do. I will go run errands or wait for car repairs wearing whatever is handy, but when I’m going out to meet or see people, I make a little effort. Then I feel better about the way I look (which, like it or not, is most people’s first impression of you), and I am more confident. Everyone wins!

  5. Trudi February 20, 2016 at 12:12 am #

    I love the tip about dressing up before going out to try something new. Confidence is so important, and when you put in a little extra effort it’s easy to feel like you can face the unfamiliar.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not Alone Series: Parish and Community Involvement - Beth Anne's Best - February 17, 2016

    […] over to Rachel’s Blog to read more Not Alone Series Posts! Thanks for […]

  2. Not Alone Series: Parish and Community Involvement | Lindsay Loves - February 18, 2016

    […] Link up with Rachel at Keeping It Real. […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

