A Valentine Love Story

15 Feb

Valentine’s Day has always been a fun day for me.  Getting pink and red valentine’s as a little girl was always so exciting.  Grade school through high school, my cousins, siblings, friends and I would make valentine’s for each other and send them in the mail.  It was thrilling to receive a big envelope in the mail stuffed with valentine’s decorated with cute pictures, hearts and the question, “Will YOU be my valentine?”

In college, valentine’s day was special, but a little awkward at times.  I wrote home when I could, and would write special notes to my friends on campus.  My mom knew that I didn’t have a boyfriend and that valentine’s day was a bit challenging for me.  As I saw classmates receive roses and go on lovely dates with their boyfriends, I sat and wondered when that would happen to me.  My dad wrote me notes telling me how much he loved me.  He said to keep smiling because it would make someone’s day 🙂

The awkwardness of valentine’s day in college rested on those random notes or single roses that I would find in my mailbox from a secret admirer.  One time I even got a personalized poem from a guy who apparently saw me around campus and possibly even in class, but I had no idea who it could have been, nor did I ever find out who the secret admirer was... (Awkward, but hey, I got cool poem :-) )

pink-heart

Those college days were special when I would receive a package from home, stuffed with letters and notes from my parents and siblings.  At the time, my youngest brother wrote me the most adorable notes and according to my mom, he would “claim” me for when I came home next (meaning, that he needed his special one-on-one sister play time.) These notes always made me cry, not because I was sad, but because I loved seeing how much my family loved me by this gesture of their love.  I knew they loved me, but the fact that they made me valentine’s and sent them to me while I was several states away, was one of my favorite things.  One valentine’s day in particular, I received a diamond necklace with matching earrings from my mom.  *gulp.*  Oh the love. (*sniffle!*)

Valentine’s day, for many, is simply just another day.  Flower shops and card-making company’s capitalize on this day.  I *could* just brush it off as just another day and write it off as just another cheesy day for spending money on your loved ones, but I can’t just brush it off.  The long-held tradition of making this a special day on which my family and I write little notes to each other or do something extra special for each other remains.

Valentine’s day still holds a special place in my heart.  Yes, I look back with fond memories on those college days and smile at my secret admirer(s) (whomever they were), and, yes, I continue to write love notes and do little acts of service for my loved ones.  Valentine’s day shouldn’t be limited to one day.  Every day should be valentine’s day.  We should show our love for each other every day.  How will you show your family, friends, neighbors and c0-workers your particular love for them this week?  Perhaps there is someone in particular who needs our patience and a little more care?  A little more kindness and a few more prayers?  Will you join me?

sacred-heart-of-jesus

Let love be genuine; hate what is evil, hold fast to what is good; love one another with brotherly affection; outdo one another in showing honor.  Never lack in zeal, be aglow with the Spirit, serve the Lord. Rejoice in your hope, be patient in tribulation, be constant in prayer.”

2 Responses to “A Valentine Love Story”

  1. LauraMarieForLife February 15, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

    Yes! I like how you celebrate Valentine’s day, but also talk about how we should love every day of the year. So true. And a good reminder! Little acts of great love is what it’s all about 🙂

    • Rfog February 16, 2016 at 7:54 am #

      Absolutely!! I remind myself of Mother Teresa’s advice, “Do small things with great love” which is very applicable to everyday life.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

