Mourning in hope

9 Jan

I’ve been in shock since Thursday.  A family that I know lost their daughter, Christy, in a tragic car accident.  She was only a year older than me.  She was in her car, stopped at a stop light, and a semi that did not see her vehicle, hit her car and she died instantly.

The news of this tragedy came to me while I was at work on Thursday morning.  I had just gotten out of a morning meeting.  I got back to my desk and checked my phone.  And there the news of her death hit me like a tidal wave.  I felt like I was in a daze.  I walked to the restroom where I stood in shock, and then sat to the ground and cried, asking God why.  I couldn’t get through the day without crying nearly every time I thought of Christy and her family.

My family has been connected to Christy’s family for some time.  When I was in junior high/ high school, I was in the same youth group as Christy’s older brother.  When I was in grade school, I was pen pals with one of her cousins.  I remember going to her house when her brother had a group of friends over, and their parents came out to the back yard where we were hanging out and joined in on our conversations for a while.  Over the past year or so, my mom has worked with Christy’s dad at a local Catholic radio station.  We weren’t close, but we were connected.

I still cannot believe that she is gone.  A wonderful woman has left this earth in the blink of an eye.  My heart ACHES.  I’ve been crying as I lay in bed each night.  I cannot imagine the grief that her family is experiencing.  I am stunned and shocked and honestly upset.  I don’t understand God’s plan.  But I know that God’s plan is Almighty.  I don’t need to understand his plan, even though it makes me ask Him “why??”   Even though the hurt and the grief are immeasurably deep, I must trust and hope and pray.  Because God’s plan is a mystery – not meant to always be understood.

During this time of grief I have thought a lot about life and how fragile it is.  Our frustrations and fears cannot and should not be what motivate us, but rather our motivation must be Faith and trust and love.  God cares for our well-being and that of our family and friends and will never abandon us.

We are not to live in scrupulosity, but we are to live in joy, generosity, and hope.

How much we have!  How much we are to be thankful for!  Even on the days that seem overwhelming, and we are lonely, or sick, or discouraged.

Life is still good.

Life is still beautiful.

And there is still hope.

One Response to “Mourning in hope”

  1. LauraMarieForLife January 12, 2016 at 2:26 pm #

    Prayers for all involved, Rachel! I can only imagine the grief her family is going through after such a tragic and unexpected loss. Asking questions helps us understand things and cope better sometimes, and I know God can take all sorts of doubts and questions we throw at him. But still, some things just never make sense, do they? Prayers of peace for her family, friends, and loved ones. “Eternal rest grant unto her, O Lord. And let the perpetual light shine upon her.”

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

