How to satiate my thirst for wisdom and knowledge?

3 Jan

My thoughts this afternoon reflected on my goals for the new year.  It is hard to keep the list short when it comes to determining my goals.  I want to do everything!!

All of a sudden today I was inspired to read a lot this year.  For a while now, I’m not sure quite how long, I’ve desired to know more – to grow in wisdom and knowledge.  I am almost seven years post-college, so perhaps I’m craving intellectual studies again?

This afternoon at our family’s weekly Sunday afternoon chat at my parent’s house, I shared that I want to read a lot this year in order to satiate my thirst for more knowledge and wisdom this year.

There is a desire in me for increased intellectual fulfillment – more so than there has been for several years.  Perhaps the desire has been there already, but the desire is burning more fervently now than before.

In my parent’s house, they have QUITE the collection of books.  Books on literature, history, the Old World, Native Americans, birds, cooking, languages, and so much more.

So, during the conversation, my mom volunteered to lend me whatever books I would like to read.  I chose six voluminous nuggets from my parents’ collection.  Here is the side view of the books:

IMG_1853[1]

The books are primarily historical in genre.  My favorite book thus far is the one titled, “The People’s Chronology: A Year by Year Record of Human Events from Prehistory to the Present.”

When I brought the books home, I put the borrowed books in my room and then ventured down to my basement where I keep notes and handouts from college where I can peruse them at my leisure.   You see, some of my college notes and handouts I threw away, but some of them I could not part with  – for the knowledge and wisdom contained therein is timeless.  I pulled out some theology notes and relished the thought of theologizing and philosophizing.

IMG_1852[1]

Of course, I had to set the mood for reading and writing by lighting a candle.  And what cold wintry day would be complete without a burning candle such as this?!  It smells wonderful!

IMG_1857[1]

Here is my multi-functional reading/crafting chair that I am currently sitting in, typing away:

IMG_1855[1]

I’m getting so excited to read to my heart’s content!  Here’s to a year full of reading, and growth in wisdom and knowledge!

4 Responses to “How to satiate my thirst for wisdom and knowledge?”

  1. Lindsay January 18, 2016 at 1:49 pm #

    What a great goal! One of my long-term goals is to read more non-religious nonfiction. I’ve always loved learning. I, on the other hand, had to part with most of my old notes and papers from college. I never looked at them, and they’re not even in the right state. I kept all my lesson plans, though; those are priceless!

  2. Rfog January 19, 2016 at 12:57 am #

    Were you a student teacher?! I did an “observation”, which was more observing than actually teaching. What grades did you teach?

    • Lindsay January 19, 2016 at 11:21 am #

      I was a regular teacher! I taught high school English, so ninth through eleventh grades. I actually glanced through some of my observation notes when I was cleaning. Nothing can quite prepare you for that moment when you look around for the Responsible Adult in the room and realize that it’s you.

      On Mon, Jan 18, 2016 at 11:57 PM, Keeping-It-Real wrote:

      > Rfog commented: “Were you a student teacher?! I did an “observation”, > which was more observing than actually teaching. What grades did you teach?” >

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A journey through books | Keeping-It-Real - February 23, 2016

    […] the beginning of the year I wrote about my quest to satiate my thirst for wisdom and knowledge.  My goal for the year is to read a lot of books, a wide variety of books, and to grow in wisdom […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

