A few thoughts on blogging

3 Jan

image

(This photo was taken this summer at the park – see the birds flying in and out of their little houses?)

Hey guys and gals,

It’s me.  It’s been a while since I’ve blogging consistently.  This past week I had lunch with a dear friend, and my blog came up in the conversation.  I admitted to having been absent from my blog for a while.  My friend, C. told me that I have a lot of talent when it comes to writing.  That was a wonderful compliment!  She encouraged me to keep up the writing.  And that’s why I’m writing to you today.

I really enjoy writing but often dismiss my desire to write because of certain hesitations.  My hesitations are these:

  • How do I word my thoughts?
  • How do I convey my message in a way that will draw my readers eyes the whole way through the article?
  • Should I care about what everyone will think?  And what if I hurt someone’s feelings?
  • Should I write on the topics that tug at my heart or should I pick a few topics to write on and keep the rest of my writing to myself?
  • What do my readers like to read about?  Does it really matter?
  • Isn’t my blog about writing what I want to write about?
  • What should I write about?
  • How much of my writing should be bold and frank?
So here’s what I’m thinkingI am going to continue writing about what comes to my mind and lays on my heart to write about.  I will continue to be bold, frank, serious, funny, humorous as I choose.  I hope I do not offend anyone, and if do, I hope that you are able to take it with a grain of salt and see the message I am trying to convey.  If you agree with what I write about – great! and if you don’t agree or like what I write – let me know – I love a good deep conversation and I enjoy sharing viewpoints.
Here’s to another year of blogging and sharing the journey with you!  I hope that you enjoy reading along as much as I enjoy sharing little bits of knowledge and insights, humor and joy via writing.
Until next time!
Peace and prayers,
Rachel

image

(A lovely scented rose with a water droplet – found at a nearby flower garden park)

3 Responses to “A few thoughts on blogging”

  1. LauraMarieForLife January 3, 2016 at 8:42 pm #

    Hello again Rachel! It’s been a long time for me too – almost 3 and a half months. Gah! Why do these unintentional blogging breaks happen? But it’s so good to see you back here! I’ve been feeling a tug to get back at it too. Your last post on reading was exciting to me because I so enjoy reading too. If you ever want to bounce suggestions off each other, shoot me an email! And I like your philosophy on continuing writing. My favorite bloggers write from the heart about what interests them, and don’t go to great lengths to cater to people who disagree with them. Happy new year, happy reading, and welcome back to blogging!

    • Rfog January 3, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

      Laura, it’s so good to hear from you! Yes, it is soo good to be back into blogging. I took a break from blogging during the Advent and Christmas season, and had the urge to write today, so here I am 🙂 I’m excited that you’re excited about reading too and I will definitely bounce some reading ideas over to you and will ask for recommendations too! Thanks for the encouragement on my writing – every time I get back into writing I get so excited because I enjoy it so much. Happy New Year, dear friend! May God grant you abundant blessings this year!

      • LauraMarieForLife January 4, 2016 at 12:30 am #

        Right back at you! It IS so much more exciting after a break 🙂 Looking forward to getting back too. Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

