NAS: Five easy steps to prayer

24 Nov

Today’s topic: Rewind

Choose any previous NAS topic that you didn’t post about.

Alternatively, revisit one of your previous NAS posts and examine

how your thoughts have changed or been confirmed since then.

I chose to write about prayer.  It marks the ebb and flow of the day.

Are you one of those people who get up in the morning, and your mind starts running at 500 hundred miles an hour before you’ve even walked out of your room?  Your head begins to rattle off the litanies of “to-do’s: “I need to get back with Jake about Thursday night” or “I can’t forget to pack lunch” or “I need to get groceries after work.”  Then by the time you get home from work, have a quick dinner, and begin to wind down for the evening, you realize, “I forgot to pray today….”  and before you know it, your head hits the pillow, and boom!  You forgot to pray.  Where did the time go?!

If you can relate to any of that, you’re in good company.  (Or would that be bad company for not praying?  Haha!)

 

Here are a couple tips that I found that work really well for me and my busy schedule that you might also find helpful:

  1. Pray as you dress: As you get ready for the day, pray.  Prayer doesn’t have to be fancy.  Prayers can actually be short and sweet.  I found this cool page that talks about prayer.  It says, “Prayer, the lifting of the mind and heart to God...”  Pretty cool, huh?  Prayer is as simple as thinking of God and lifting our hearts towards Him.
  2. Pray in the car.  I have found that my commute to work is about just the right amount of time for praying a Chaplet of Divine Mercy.  Or, I can pray a couple decades of the Rosary.  Cha-ching for multi-tasking.  Thank you, Jesus 🙂
  3. Tell God what you are grateful for. (this one is HUGE for me.   When I count my blessings, I realize how much goodness and order are in my life that I didn’t realize!!)
  4. Ask the Holy Spirit to show you how to pray.  Sometimes we don’t know how to pray or what to pray for.  Asking the Holy Spirit to show us how to pray and what to pray for is pretty cool.  Many times I find myself wandering from a prayer and instead, thinking about work, or dance lessons, or what I need to get done before bed.
  5. Let God speak to you.  One form of prayer that is really fascinating to me, is to put ourselves in the presence of God and simply praying, “Speak, Lord, your servant is listening.”

 

What methods of prayer do you like to use?  Do you get distracted in prayer?  What do you do when your prayers get jumbled and you start losing focus?

Use the button below to link up with me today, and then link over to my co-host Lindsay’s blog.

Thanks for joining the conversation today!

Please leave me some comment love below!

 

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

3 Responses to “NAS: Five easy steps to prayer”

  1. LauraMarieForLife November 24, 2015 at 10:01 pm #

    Thanks for sharing, Rachel! From one busy person to another, I completely get what you’re saying about sometimes forgetting. I enjoy journaling when I have time, and going to adoration. But what I’ve found works best for me for everyday life is doing lectio divina in the morning with that day’s gospel. Have you done that before? I never did before college. I just love challenging myself with the message and finding a way to apply it to my life with a resolution for that day. Of course I forget a lot of the time, but the day is so much better with Jesus as the first thing on my mind! Yay prayer! I keep an ongoing list of intentions that I try to refer to at least once a day. That’s totally changed my perspective on life. Praying just makes me so much more grateful and reminds me of all the good still out there. Thanks for reminding me!

  2. Lindsay November 27, 2015 at 4:36 pm #

    I *love* praying during my commute! Mine is long enough for a whole rosary plus a good chunk of podcast listening, for better or for worse. I also highly recommend the Morning Offering and membership in the Apostleship of Prayer. It takes some time to learn to pray it rolling out of bed, but the grace it brings can’t be beat.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not Alone Series Rewind: What I Love About Being Single | Lindsay Loves - November 27, 2015

    […] Link up with Rachel at Keeping It Real. […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

