Not Alone Series: Scripture Reading

3 Nov

5ac1e-notalone5

What is your relationship with Scripture? Do you read the Bible every day?

What is your favorite translation or edition? Do you use Scripture for prayer (a.k.a. lectio divina)?

Do you play Bible roulette (flip to a random verse)? What are some Scripture verses

that speak to you as a single woman?

The summer that I graduated high school, my older sister gave me a Bible.  She wrote me a note on the inside cover, part of which reads, “Read it often and you will grow close to Jesus.”  I took that Bible to college with me, and it has become my favorite Bible to read.  Want to learn the rest of the story?

In grade school or high school (I don’t remember which) I had been given a Bible that I perused every so often.  I didn’t read the Bible every day, but I referenced it every so often.  In high school I had memorized all the books of the bible in their chronological order.  (Yes, I defy all the stereotypes of Catholics who don’t read or know the bible!)

Fast forward a year.  One day in college, I followed the example of some of my fellow college students, and took my Bible to the campus’s chapel.  I opened the pages and picked random passages to read.  Some of my classes relied heavily on Scripture, and I was required to learn and memorize key passages, so reading the Bible became the norm.

image

My Bible from my older sister

image

Tabs for quick-reference to my favorite passages!

I began to familiarize myself with frequently referenced passages.  I flipped through pages, perused at my leisure, and found a way to read Scripture that doesn’t overwhelm me.  My favorite way to read Scripture is by jumping around between the books and chapters and finding passages that strike a chord or stick out to me in some way.

The first passage that really hit home with me found me, not vice versa.  It was post-college when the company that I had been working for had to lay a few people off.  And I was one of the employees that got laid off.

The job search was challenging and discouraging.  One day I came home to find a piece of mail for me sitting on the kitchen counter.  I opened it to find a letter and a prayer book from a Catholic organization. On the cover of the prayer book were the words, “Be Still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10.  I literally read those words and began to cry.  It was as if God Himself had sent me that piece of mail, urging me not to worry, not to fret, and to “be still” and remember that God was in control of my unemployment situation – that He would find me a new job in due time – and He did!!

The passage in Psalm 46:10 reminds me to this day that God is in control of my life, even when it seems like He isn’t in control.  Daily Scripture reading has become one of my habits.  I open and read my Bible on a weekly/bi-weekly basis, and enjoy finding new passages that hit home.

One of the passages that I found that struck a chord with me is: 1 Thessalonians 5:12-24  (Go home and read it – I can guarantee that you will like this passaged too 🙂 )

Now how do these passages encourage me as a single?  I guess I would say they encourage me now as much as they will when I am married.  I find that so much of Scripture can apply to any person, regardless of their state in life.  But, if I had to choose one that seems to really stand out for me as a single, I would say Jeremiah 29:11, which my dear friend Laura referred me to.  The passage reads, “For I know the plans I have for you, says the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.”  Aren’t those words in Scripture beautiful!?!

Your turn now! 

What is your relationship with Scripture? Do you read the Bible every day?

What is your favorite translation or edition? Do you use Scripture for prayer (a.k.a. lectio divina)?

Do you play Bible roulette (flip to a random verse)? What are some Scripture verses

that speak to you as a single woman?

Link to my blog, and link up with today’s host, Lindsay!!

When linking up:

  • After you link up, visit some of the other posts to say hello!
  • On social media, tag your post #notaloneseries.
  • Topic suggestions are always welcome!

Next week’s topic (hosted here at Keeping-It-Real): Recipes for One

What are some great recipes for just one person? How do you handle shopping, cooking, and eating for one? Do you have any kitchen advice or cooking tips for singles?

Love and prayers,

Rachel

One Response to “Not Alone Series: Scripture Reading”

  1. Lindsay November 6, 2015 at 11:23 pm #

    I love that verse from Jeremiah, too! I also love St. Paul’s words about rejoicing. Joy is my jam.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

