Severe in Justice AND Severe in Mercy

16 Oct

It was a Saturday afternoon.  I drove to the nearby Catholic Church, and walked into the Confessional.  My soul had gotten weighed down with my sins, and my conscience prompted and urged me to the Confessional – the fount of grace and mercy.

Though I could not see Him, I knew He was there -the very God of the Universe.

The priest was there “in persona Christi” (in the person of Christ.)

The crucifix on the wall reminded me of whom I was actually confessing my sins to – God Himself.

God and I had a chat there and I told Him everything.  I had fallen and sinned – my weak soul had gotten the better of me.  My sins.  BIG.  UGLY.  PRIDEFUL.  My attitude.  Gossip.  Lack of generosity.  Selfishness.  Lack of time for prayer.  Misuse of Freedom.  Bitterness.  I had chosen sin over God.

The Divine Judge Himself looked at my soul – it was broken.  As He looked into my eyes I began to cry.  I blubbered through the rest of my sins.  And some of the words – I could barely get out.  I looked down at the ground.

When I looked up, I saw The One who is The Judge through the eyes of my heart.  His eyes were full of sorrow.  He was crying too.  Then I felt even WORSE for my sins.  How could I so deeply offend Him whom I so adored??!

I said, “I am sorry for all my sins.”

The wreckage from my sins caused me to shudder.  The priest told me to avoid sin, to pray for and to practice humility, generosity and self-denial through small sacrifices for others.  I nodded my head in agreement to do as he advised.

What I then heard caused me to shed tears of gratitude.  The priest invoked the power of God and said, “”And I absolve you from your sins in the Name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.  Go in peace.”  What an awesome moment.  The words of the priest, speaking in the person of Christ, The Judge.  Severe in Judgement, but also severe in Mercy.

I whispered the words, “Thank you, Father!”

As I walked from the Confessional, a wave of grace and gratitude washed over me.

If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just, and will forgive our sins and cleanse us from all unrighteousness” -1 John 1:9 

God is waiting for you in the confessional.  Today can be your day for healing and peace.  Will you go?

2 Responses to “Severe in Justice AND Severe in Mercy”

  1. LauraMarieForLife October 18, 2015 at 2:55 pm #

    So beautiful. Sometimes I forget the beauty and necessity of this sacrament. Thanks for the reminder 😊

  2. Lindsay October 24, 2015 at 10:37 pm #

    Amen! The Church desperately needs the witness of people who actually go to Confession.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

