Conversation Starters, hosted here on the Not Alone Series

13 Oct

NAS

What is your take on Conversation starters?  What are some of your “go-to’s” for making conversation?

Many times, conversations begin with a question, “How was your day?” “What did you think of Notre Dame’s win over Navy last weekend?” (*yesiamanotredamefan*)I’m looking for a new read – what books do you recommend?”

Conversation starters are a good thing to keep in your back pocket or on the tip of your tongue.  If you’re like me, it’s hard to make small talk, so it’s nice to have some easy “go-to’s for starting up a conversation.

My go-to’s for conversation are “How are you doing?” and “What have you been up to lately?”  If the question isn’t answered, look at the guy sweetly and smile, and maybe raise your eyebrows as if to ask the question again.  Maybe follow it up with, “Has it been busy for you today?”  These question are open-ended enough that the guy has a whole plethora of directions that they can go with their answer.

When it comes to starting the conversation with that handsome dude, it’s nice to have some questions formulated before leaving your house, so when you want to strike up conversation, you are well-equipped.

Now some people might argue that the guy should start the conversation.  I would say that the guy OR the girl can start the conversation.  There are no hard and fast rules about girls or guys making the conversation start, so I say GO FOR IT!  Put on your courage, dress up your smile with some lipstick, and ask away!  You never know how your confidence might bolster his confidence too.

So, I will leave you with a couple questions that I like, and will ask you one last question at the end (It’s kind of a trick because I want to get the conversation started and get your feedback on this topic too! 😉

  1. “Hi, how’s your day been?”
  2. “How do you know the host/hostess?” (If you’re at an event)
  3. “I’m organizing/looking for _____(book, movie, something fun to do in town) what do you recommend? What are your favorites?”

And be sure to keep eye contact and really listen.  When the guy answers your questions, ask another question to show how much you were listening.  Add your input if you so choose.

Now it’s your turn!  How do you like to start the conversation?! (The link-up button is at the very bottom of this post.)

Leave me some comment love below and make sure to link over to Lindsay’s blog too!

Here are the rest of October’s topics:

October 20th: Pursuit: What does it mean to pursue and be pursued?  We talk about wanting men to pursue all the time.  How do you like to be pursued?  (hosted by Lindsay)

October 27th: Encouragement: How do you give encouragement to other singles (or couples) who are struggling in their journey?  (hosted by yours truly 😉 )

November is YTBD.

And last but not least.  Have you seen the Whip Nae Nae video?!  I did this dance last weekend.  In public.  At a wedding reception. And it was awesome.  I think I got some serious street cred with that one.  Just sayin’.

Love,

Rachel

 

//static.inlinkz.com/cs2.js?v=116

get the InLinkz code

11 Responses to “Conversation Starters, hosted here on the Not Alone Series”

  1. leeannimal403 October 13, 2015 at 7:39 pm #

    My go-to question is “If captured by cannibals, how would you prefer they prepare you?”

    This is quirky and shows how entertaining my thoughts tend to be and weeds out those who probably couldn’t handle being around me without a lot of censoring on my part which is drab and leads to being miserable.

    • followingfaith528 October 16, 2015 at 4:07 am #

      Lol, that’s a good conversation starter. 🙂

    • Rfog October 16, 2015 at 7:58 am #

      Haha, that is a good one! I bet you get all sorts of various replies with that question. If I had to answer that question, I would say however quickly they could get it over with!

      • leeannimal403 October 16, 2015 at 5:57 pm #

        I’m a Southern gal, so I think I would prefer being barbecued and served with sides of macaroni and cheese, baked beans, cole slaw, cornbread, and a blackberry cobbler for dessert.

        Might as well make myself as delicious as possible.

  2. LauraMarieForLife October 14, 2015 at 4:22 pm #

    Girl, that is some serious street cred doing the watch me dance in public. Hahaha! It’s such a weird song, but the dance is so much fun! And I’m enjoying reading the suggestions for starting conversations. The usual “How are you doing?”, “Fine” thing feels so fake. I like “What’s something fun/adventurous you’ve done recently?” Or asking about fun memories when you know people a little more can be fun!

    • Rfog October 16, 2015 at 8:03 am #

      Yeah, I was glad I had the courage to whip out the whip dance 😉 I like your questions for conversation starters. I agree that the “How are you doing?” question is okay, but that it’s better to ask something that requires a more thought-provoking answer. I’ve asked the fun/adventurous question before and it usually gets a good reply.

  3. Lindsay October 14, 2015 at 10:40 pm #

    I love the Whip/Nae Nae! The only parts I don’t like are the Stanky Legg and the fact that the rapper is only 17 years old and makes me feel like I have done nothing with my life.

    Eye contact is going to save us all! I have a pet peeve against the “how are you?”/”I’m fine” exchange because most people who ask it don’t really want to know how you are, and the only acceptable answer is “fine,” even when you are *not* fine. I prefer things like “what’s exciting?” or “do you have fun plans for the weekend?” or, for my friend who works in GIS, “what’s new in cartography?” 😉

    • followingfaith528 October 16, 2015 at 4:06 am #

      I appreciate your comment. Thanks for encouraging me to think outside of the box.

    • Rfog October 16, 2015 at 8:09 am #

      I ask the generic “how are you?” question as a prelude to asking more questions. I can’t stand it when I ask “how are you?” and get no reply. There was a delivery person at work this week who asked me, “how are you?” I replied with, “Good, how are you?” and said person kept going without replying. It then became very apparent that the delivery person asking the question in the first place was not really interested to know how I am doing. When that happens, it becomes awkward because all chances of a conversation stop abruptly there.

      • Lindsay October 16, 2015 at 12:03 pm #

        Ah, I actually don’t reply sometimes! Then again, living in the South has encouraged me to just tell people how I actually am. They always take it well. I pick something fairly neutral, like work stress, traffic, or sometimes even weather. I just have to remember to turn that chattering reflex off when I go back home!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Not Alone Series: Conversation Starters | Lindsay Loves - October 14, 2015

    […] Link up with Rachel at Keeping It Real. […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

