7 Quick Takes: Russian Sage, Pumpkin Muffins and Labor Day

6 Sep

image

This week’s 7 Quick Takes are being hosted at Fountains of Home.  Stop on by her blog and say hi!  Don’t forget to “like” or leave me some comment love!  It makes my day to hear from my readers.  Seriously.

1.

image

I bought a new laptop!  My old laptop crashed on me a few months ago.  During the down-time I was able to borrow my sisters’ laptops, which they generously lent.  One of my close friends helped get my laptop set up and initialized this week.  (Thank you, B.!)  Here’s to more writing now that I have a replacement laptop!

2.

One of my very dear friends came over on Saturday and we experimented using Russian Sage on baguette-style sandwiches.  The baguettes were delicious – here is what they looked like:

image

This is my home-grown Russian sage.

image image image

3.

Last Sunday my mom, my older sister K. and my grandpa and I went to the park after Mass to have brunch.  Here are a few pictures that capture the day:

image image image image image image image

4.

On Friday this week, there was a beautiful sunrise on my way to work.  On the way home after work on the same day, the thunder clouds were rolling in.  The contrast in pictures is awesome!

image image image image

5.

My sweet youngest sister and one of her friends came to visit me this week and brought the batter for pumpkin cookies.  The batter started out as cookie dough, and too much flour was added, so we made muffins instead 😉  The muffins turned out rather well.

image

6.

Do you ever have so much that you want to say, but say a fraction of it because you either a) don’t know how to say it, b) don’t want to gossip, c) are afraid to say it for fear of being deemed ignorant, biased, or inconsistent? d) don’t want to make the other person upset or aggravated?  Sometimes it’s hard for me to express myself.  Most times I have the hardest time expressing myself to those I am closest to because I don’t know quite how to be vulnerable.  Over the weekend I had an amazing conversation with a priest friend and he gave me some wonderful insight into being vulnerable.  It takes great courage to be vulnerable and share our scars, fears and wounds.  And what beauty that vulnerability will reap!

7.

I have off the day tomorrow for Labor Day.  Deo Gratias!

Have a wonderful Labor Day!

PS. My great-grandma taught my mom, who in turn taught me, to thank God for the ability to work.

How are you thankful this Labor Day?

2 Responses to “7 Quick Takes: Russian Sage, Pumpkin Muffins and Labor Day”

  1. LauraMarieForLife September 7, 2015 at 8:23 pm #

    I just love the random-ness your your quick takes!

    My laptop is a Lenovo too, and I’ve been super happy with it. Yay! And um, wow. Those sandwiches look epic. YUM! That park looks BEAUTIFUL, and those clouds? Wow. And those muffins? Wow. Lots of wow!

    It IS hard to be vulnerable, and yes I have stopped saying something because I don’t want to gossip. I wonder how much about me people really need to know….It’s funny, I was just writing about this in adoration! I’d like to think I don’t always share everything out of trying to be humble. Buuuut that’s probably false humility. Darn. It depends on the situation to me. If we’re having a back and forth conversation and having solidarity and sharing how awesome God is or something…then yes, share! But I wouldn’t pipe up randomly with a personal fact unless the situation calls for it. Is that right? I don’t know. Gah! Life! I’d love to hear more thoughts on that 🙂

  2. Lindsay September 7, 2015 at 9:59 pm #

    That is one of the best group selfies I have ever seen. Seriously.

    As for #6, my best resource there is my best friend. She lives several states away, so we have to maintain our relationship by phone. I love that I can absolutely be myself with her. I don’t have to hold anything back, and she doesn’t mind when I don’t make sense or even forget a conversation we already had. True friends are a treasure.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

