7QT’s: Laundry “Perfume” and Announcements

30 Aug

Hello!  Welcome to 7 Quick Takes, hosted by the ever-inspiring Kelly Mantoan!!!!

  1.  This week, I decided to splurge on laundry “scent booster.”  About a year and a half ago, my sister bought one of those 5-gallon-sized laundry detergent containers to support a fundraiser at school.  We’ve been using that tub of detergent for what seems like eons.  The detergent doesn’t have much “umph” to the scent, so I decided enough was enough and bought myself these delightful crystals, which I think are just wonderful:
  2. imageYesterday I went to a Crossfit promotional workout that was hosted by one of the local Crossfit boxes at a nearby outdoors shopping center.  The workout was modified for beginners.  Aside from my ballroom dance lessons, the extend of my workouts are walking around the office at work, and about one walk a week.  I lift my girly weights here and there, but I don’t have a regular workout routine.  Yesterday afternoon after the workout, my thighs started to burn.  By evening, every time I sat down or got up from a chair, I could feel the muscles throughout my body yelling and screaming at me.  HAHA!  My aching muscles are my reminder to get myself into a workout routine.  Who knows?!  Maybe I’ll improve my dance technique in the meantime!!  WIN-WIN!!
  3. I’ve been writing in my gratitude journal more lately.  It’s amazing how much my perspective on world-news and stress improves when I count my blessings.  It doesn’t take away the reality of awful things happening around the world, but reality becomes clearer when I see it through the lens of God’s ever-present loving care.

image

   4.  My card-making supplies always make me happy.  Look at all the colors and goodness:

image

Making cards and sending them to family and friends is one of my hobbies/ministries.  Do you or someone you know need some joy and cheer?  Comment below with the name and address where I can mail some bright and cheerful mail!

  5.  Please keep in your prayers a friend of mine, Emily, who is having surgery this Tuesday to remove a brain tumor.  She is invoking the patronage of Saint Philomena.  Any and all prayers that the surgeon can completely remove the tumor and that my friend has a full and complete recovery are so deeply appreciated.

6.  I made chili and biscuits recently.  Easy peasy and delicious.

image image

  7.  I have been SOOOOO excited to make an announcement about my blogging journey!!  I will be making the big announcement next week, and I wanted to get you pumped up with me ahead of time to rev up the excitement.  Stay tuned for the Big Announcement next week!!

For more 7 Quick Takes, head on over to Kelly’s at thisaintthelyceum!!

3 Responses to “7QT’s: Laundry “Perfume” and Announcements”

  1. LauraMarieForLife September 1, 2015 at 12:39 am #

    Yay, Rachel! 7QT is so fun to read! I use homemade detergent, so it’s not super fragrant either. I use a scented dryer sheet and add a drop of lavender essential oil in the dryer. A bit hippie? Yes. But it smells great!

    Man, I’ve been thinking about crossfit. Being sore HURTS, but like you said, it’s a reminder. Kudos to you for trying that out! I really want to try it.

    I’ve also been writing in my gratitude journal more. Life changes so much when you focus on the positive, doesn’t it? There’s always something to be thankful for!

    Mail is the best! I’d love to send little notes and quotes and things to brighten each other’s days! My address is 1020 N. 2nd Street, Box 1448, Atchison, KS 66002 [not worried about security here since it’s a college address].

    Keeping Emily in my prayers. Your chili sounds great, and now I’ll be sure to check back next week for your announcement! 🙂

    • Rfog September 5, 2015 at 4:00 pm #

      Lavender oil for laundry fragrance sounds soo soothing. I might just try that one of these days. Thanks!

      After doing the Crossfit workout last weekend, I had to make sure I did more exercises and stretching to help my muscles and joints avoid getting sore and tight.

      Ah, there is SO much to be grateful for. God is faithful and He never fails. Gratitude is one of the many ways that we can give him our thanks.

      I’m so excited to send you a card in the mail!! Ah, that made my day 🙂 I love sending mail!!

      My friend Emily’s operation was good and she is in recovery mode. Keep the prayers coming. 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Big Announcement!!!! | Keeping-It-Real - September 8, 2015

    […] week I mentioned that I had a big announcement to make this […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

