Prayer To Saint Rose Of Lima (The prayer you’ve all been waiting for)

19 Aug

This past week I wrote a short biography about Saint Rose of Lima and told you that I would be sharing one of my favorite prayers to her.

The prayer is in a prayer book that I’ve used ever since I was in grade school.  The book is called “The Catholic Girl’s Guide” by Father Lasance.  This prayer book is by far one of my favorites.  It has been a wonderful go-to for me for a long time, and it has so many thought-provoking tips and bits of information about the spiritual life.  This prayer book has been my “Examination of Conscience”, and my guide in “Prayers before and after Communion” and much, much more.  The advice that Fr. Lasance gives in this prayer book is timeless.  If you are looking for a guide for your prayers and need something that won’t leave you feeling lacking, this is your book 🙂  I don’t know the author of the prayer, but this is the book I found it in.

Here is the prayer:

Admirable Saint Rose, you were truly a sweet flower blooming on a rugged soil; you were indeed a rose among thorns, bearing with meekness and patience the stings of envious tongues, and preserving perfect purity and modesty amid the alluring blandishments of a deceitful world.   To the sufferings inflicted on you by others you added the voluntary tortures of fasting and watching,  of the discipline of the crown of thorns and of the hair shirt, to subdue the flesh and to make yourself like to your heavenly Spouse. By the merits which you have thus gained with your divine Bridegroom, obtain for me the grace to bear my afflictions with patience, to remain pure and modest, to be meek and humble, to be faithful to the inspirations of the Holy Spirit, and so to mortify my passions that I may be ever more pleasing and acceptable in the sight of my dear Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ, who lives and reigns world without end.  Amen.

One Response to “Prayer To Saint Rose Of Lima (The prayer you’ve all been waiting for)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 2015 in review | Keeping-It-Real - January 17, 2016

    […] Fascinating fact: Saint Rose of Lima seems to be the Patron saint of my blog.  Her name is in the stats of blog searches on my blog nearly every day – particularly this post, and this post (which includes a synopsis of who she is), and this post which has a prayer to her.  […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

