Vacation, Friends, and a Little Car Named “Hot Sauce”

22 Jul

Well, friends, I followed the promptings of my heart and took a much-needed vacation.

Oh let me tell you.  If there is one thing that I will be doing waaay more often for myself, as time permits, or as I need, it is taking vacation.  It was absolutely wonderful.

Two weeks ago, my friend K. and I took a week to drive to Washington D.C. for vacation. We rented a compact car that was teeny tiny. The car didn’t have a very big engine, and when we had to drive up steep hills along the way to D.C., the engine sounded like it was struggling. K. and I joked about pulling out the hatch and running the car up the hills like they do on “Flintstones.” We kept coaxing the car, jokingly, with “come on, Little Engine, you can do it!” We soon named the car “hot sauce” after it’s bright red color and persevering set of wheels.

The next few days until Wednesday of the following week, my sister and friend K. and I spent HOURS and HOURS touring and taking pictures by the dozens of the memorials and fantastic sights in D.C.. We rode the metro, drove to the beach for a day, ate at some nice restaurants, and really just soaked up every ounce that we could of being on vacation. We had early mornings and late nights to pack in all that we did. I can’t wait to do it again!

And now, here are just a few of the PICTURES from our trip!!!  (*Photos are in random order.*)

 

Here is one of the many planes we saw flying over us while visiting the monuments in D.C.
image

Ta DA!!!  The Washington monument can fit in the palms of my hands!

image

My sister K., who is living in D.C. for the summer, was our tour guide.

Here we are on our way to the beach in Delaware.

image

The Chesapeake Bay bridge!

image

Fun in the sun!

image

Ah, dear ocean, how I miss thee!!

image

Crystal formations at the National History museum

image

Old Town Alexandria, in case you were wondering 😉 

image

Sunset in historic Alexandria

image

I was trying to get a picture of the girls – here they are trying to even out their height. LOL

image

While looking at the White House, we met an amazing group of Pro-Lifers who were witnessing to the sanctity of the unborn.  It warmed my heart to see fellow pro-lifers engaging in conversation with passersby and informing intrigued tourists with the #everylifecounts message!!

image

The Arlington Cemetery, and definitely one of my favorite memorials in D.C.  Look at how many tombstones there are.  That is only a fraction of the tombstones… So many lives have been given to defend our freedom in America.  We have so much to be thankful for, due to our heroes!!

image

I don’t know the boy in the picture, but I found it to be a very thought-provoking photo: 

The boy is very whimsical and innocent, and he is able to be here today, in part, due to the ultimate sacrifice of countless soldiers, as is witnessed by their tombstones seen in the background of the photo.

image

The Tomb of the Unknown Soldier *GULP* *tear*

image

The D.C. metro.  Such a mixture of memories of the Rome, Italy subways and American transportation

image

The infamous “hot sauce” super-uber compact car

image

 

 

K. and I on our trip out to DC

image

 

The highway into D.C.

image

 

 

College friends reunited!!  And see how my friend M. is due with her second baby?!?!  She’s such a cute lil’ momma.

image

The National Basilica of the Immaculate Conception

image

The Supreme Court

image

 

My older sis K. and I behind the Capitol building

image

 

K. and I taking a selfie in front of the Washington monument

image

 

Here is a better view of the Washington monument 😉

image

 

K. and I with the Lincoln memorial in the background

image

 

The Lincoln memorial up close

image

Statues of soldiers near the Vietnam memorial

image

The Korean memorial

image

Just love this picture with the trees in the foreground and the reflection on the water.  (Also notice the two paddle boats on the water?!)

image

The Jefferson memorial (by this time, my feet were reaallly sore…but it was worth it.

image

And that, my friends, about sums it up!!  I hope you enjoyed this virtual tour!

Until next time!

Love and prayers,

Rachel

2 Responses to “Vacation, Friends, and a Little Car Named “Hot Sauce””

  1. LauraMarieForLife July 28, 2015 at 1:56 am #

    Yay! Good to see you back here. That sounds like a fabulous adventure, and I love the pictures 🙂

  2. Samantha August 2, 2015 at 6:36 pm #

    Looks like a fun trip!!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

