What Struck Me In The Gospel of Matthew

30 Jun

This past weekend while I was praying before Mass, I opened the hymnal and looked through the readings.  I found a passage that struck me in a profound way, so I thought I’d share it with you.

The passage goes as follows:

“He who loves father or mother more than me is not worthy of me; and he who loves son or daughter is not worthy of me; and he who does not take his cross and follow me is not worthy of me.” (Matthew 10:37-39, emphasis my own.)

It’s amazing how much this passage calls us to essentially “get over ourselves” and do what’s right, despite it being hard.  If I give the silent treatment to the family member who is aggravating me, ignore my lonely neighbor, hold a grudge and refuse to forgive, I am not worthy of God.  If I harbor bad self image and talk down about myself, allow my stress to get the better of me, or if I ignore God’s blessings in my life, I am not worthy.

As I ponder these things, it’s easy to become discouraged.  I shudder at the gravity of sin.   Yet I remain joyfully hopeful because of God’s unfailing mercy.  He reaches down to pick us up out of our sin.  All we need to do in response is say our humble “yes”, seek out the Sacraments of Reconciliation and The Eucharist, and thus become renewed through God’s forgiveness and love.

Will you join me?!  If not today, then when?

Love and prayers,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

