Worry Sprinkled With Gratitude

14 Jun

Do you ever over-think and over-analyze?  Do you waste time running hypothetical situations through your head?  Do you ever say, “What if that happens?”, or “What if that doesn’t happen?”  Well, you’re in good company.  I do that.  All.  The.  Time.  Blah.

Last year I started a gratitude journal.  It was my goal to write at least five things in it every day that I was grateful for.  There were days that I skipped, days that I wrote more than five things, and days that I was grateful, but didn’t have the energy to write late at night.

I began this journal as a way to enrich my life.  I had found myself asking God for a lot of things during prayer, and realized that I wasn’t necessarily thanking Him for the things for which I was grateful.  My temperament is melancholic / phlegmatic (which is weird because I also type A personality and like to take charge and be on top of projects, my house, etc.)  I worry and fear a lot more than the “average joe”, so part of the purpose of having a gratitude journal was to help keep a good perspective on what is *actually* good, and avoid pointless worry and excessive over-thinking.

I liked the gratitude journal so much (and needed to continue working on keeping a good perspective) that I decided to keep going indefinitely!  So, I’m onto my gratitude journal for this year.  There is always plenty to worry about, pray for, discern, fight for, suffer for, and over-think on, but why not relax and let God take control.  He is in control after all, isn’t He?!

Today I am grateful for:

– Sunny skies after thunder storms

– Lazy Sundays afternoons soaking up the sun in my backyard

– Spontaneous trips to the pizza shop and 1/2 priced bookstore with my sister

– My iPhone

– Ice cream & brownies (my dessert tonight)

What are you grateful for today?  Are you willing to take a step back so God can take a step in?  After all, He IS in control.  Take a deep breath with me and let’s relax and remember that God will figure things out if we only let Him.

3 Responses to “Worry Sprinkled With Gratitude”

  1. LauraMarieForLife June 15, 2015 at 9:18 pm #

    Love this! I started keeping a gratitude journal (when reading “One Thousand Gifts”)…..but I lost it 😦 Maybe I should start it up again! I love your list and this idea. It really does help you be more positive and enjoy the little things in life!

    • Rfog June 17, 2015 at 12:17 am #

      Hi Laura! It really does help keep a better perspective by keeping a gratitude journal. I enjoy finding little or random things to be grateful for (like car keys and shampoo.). It’s fun to read through it after a year and look back with fond memories on things, events and people that I spent time with. You should start a new gratitude journal – you’ll be grateful that you did 😉

  2. Katrina July 21, 2015 at 12:45 am #

    It’s actually very difficult in this busy life to listen news on TV, thus I simply use world wide web for that purpose, and take the newest information.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

