His Love For Me

5 May

Every so often I stop and remind me of how much God loves me.

Most days I do not automatically think of my worthiness of God’s love.  Most days I feel very unworthy of His love.

What amazes me almost as much as my amazement for his love for me is the fact that he loves me in spite of my brokenness.

At Mass last weekend, I came into Church feeling very anxious and broken. The thought of my sins and lack of faith overwhelmed me.  Anger, jealousy, and frustration had gotten the better of me.

Nevertheless, I went to Mass.  There I witnessed my nephew making his First Holy Communion.   Tears welled up in my eyes as the twenty-something kids received Jesus in the Eucharist for the first time.  How precious a gift!

God’s love for us is more than we can ever imagine. He loves us so much that He wants to live in us.  He loves us so dearly that he is willing to forgive us our transgressions (as long as we are repentant) and welcome us back into His flock.

I reminded myself that God does not see me as a bunch of mistakes piled together. He sees me as his beloved daughter, whom he gave his life for. He loves me so dearly that he draws me into a union of souls.   He doesn’t look at my mistakes and say, “I’m sorry I can’t love you anymore.”  He  says “be sorry for your sins, confess them, and sin no more.”  He calls me  to avoid gossip, false pride and anger, and to practice charity in thought word and deed.

My God loves me more than I could ever imagine, and more than I could be worthy of.  And what God asks of me is to be humble in acknowledging my sins, to confess my sins in Reconciliation, and to live the joy of the Gospels.

And that is a very beautiful thing.

2 Responses to “His Love For Me”

  1. LauraMarieForLife May 6, 2015 at 11:18 am #

    His love IS such a beautiful thing. Especially in those moments when I feel unloved or unworthy, just looking at the cross helps me realize what I’m worth. He did that for ME. And for you! These moments when we realize that are such gifts 🙂

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

