7 Quick Takes: Shrimp Cooking, Dog Who Eats EVERYTHING, and Consoling the Heart of Jesus Spiritual Retreat

8 Mar

Thanks for stopping by today!  A big “Thank You” to Kelly over at “This Ain’t The Lyceum” for hosting the 7 Quick Takes!

1.  This is my very first attempt at cooking shrimp.  Let’s just say it was super simple and delish!

Shrimp

2.  Teddi the dog. . . .

0119152119

He eats EVERYTHING.  Anything and everything that is within his reach, he will eat.  His latest gig is eating the cotton out of his stuffed dog-toy.  That option was a bad idea.  And there is plenty of evidence in the yard that he’s eaten his fair share of my earplugs . . .  Any suggestions on how to train him NOT to eat everything in site?!?

3.  Today I released my inner artist and made greeting cards: (The pictures on the cards were from stamps, and the cards with polka dots are hand-drawn.

Greeting cards

4.  The past week or so I’ve been doing a “study” of sorts at work.  As a purchasing agent, editor, and sales representative, I am the “middle man” on many projects and I wear a lot of hats.  It’s easy for me to speak my mind, which has it’s pro’s and con’s.  For the study, I’ve been avoiding complaints and negativity.  I just, to put it bluntly, shut up, listen, and am very careful about my comments.  The study reminded me of the power of listening.  How easy it is to complain, and in contrast, how many wonderful moments slip past without notice because I was too busy focusing on what went wrong instead of on what went right.  The power of a positive comment and a grateful heart is quite intense.

5.  My goddaughter just turned one!!!!

IMG_3090

6.  I’ve been participating in a retreat by Fr. Michael Gaitley called “Consoling The Heart of Jesus.”   We are learning how to console Jesus by Trusting Him with everything, and asking Him “What can I do for you today, Lord, that will console your Sacred Heart?”  Simply outstanding.  You see, He is deeply saddened when we sin.  So by offering Him our Trust (by avoiding worry, anxiety, and fear), offering Him prayers of Faith, and living virtuously, we console His Heart very much.  You need look no further than this book for a spiritual gem that will help you progress, in a very realistic and reasonable way, along the path of holiness.

7.  How are YOU?!!!!  Don’t be shy.  What have you been up to?  How is your year going?  What is new in your life?  I want all the juicy details.

Bye for now,

Love,

Rach

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

