Travel Talk: Home and Abroad

26 Feb

How do you travel as a single lady?! Any tips or tricks you’d like to share? Do you have anything fun planned for this year?

There are so many amazing places to go and see.  Ever since I can remember, I’ve been a lover of travel.  I’ve been a lot of places and have a lot of travel experience.

The farthest west I’ve traveled in the USA is Colorado, and the farthest east in the USA is New York/New Jersey/Maryland.  The farthest I’ve traveled from home was in 2007 on my first plane ride ever when I flew to Italy.  (Talk about nerve-wracking!)  Thankfully I was with my parents and one of my brothers, so I did have travel companions.  The four of us traveled around Italy and France before I began my semester of study abroad in Italy.

Here are my top travel recommendations:

1) Have an itinerary (which we had when we flew to Italy in 2007, thanks to the research and planning of my mom!).  Having a travel plan will help maximize your time, and will give you more time to relax and enjoy your trip.  If you need to change plans along the way, that’s okay. Research your destination ahead of time so that you know a few key places to see.

2) Be flexible.  You may miss a bus or have a cancelled flight.  Even though that can be stressful, you can use that time and experience for something good.  Maybe if you are standing in the airport and your flight was cancelled, you take the extra time to go explore some places that you really wanted to see but didn’t have the time to before.

3) Take pictures.  You won’t regret having a good camera, extra batteries, and if you’re in a foreign country, make sure you bring your electricity converter.  (Otherwise, you won’t be able to charge your batteries.)

4) Pack lightly.  This is especially true if you are going to be trying to sight-see as much as possible.  Your travel experience is bound to be better with the less you have to carry around.

5) Keep your money, passport and ID safely hidden on your person at all times (unless of course you’re going swimming 😉 )

6) If you buy a new pair of shoes to wear on the trip, break them in before the trip (your feet will love you forever if you wear comfortable shoes!)

7) Meet the locals.  When I was studying in Rome, I met some of the locals, and they were friendly and allowed me to practice my weak Italian with them.  And, if you’re looking for a specific place, the locals pretty much always can point you in the right direction.

8) Travel with other people, especially if you’re a girl, and most especially if you are traveling out of the country.  Having even a couple extra people to travel with is more fun – you create shared memories, and you are less likely to get lost, stolen from, etc.

9) Carry an extra snack and water bottle in your backpack.  When I was traveling abroad, we didn’t eat our meals at consistent times throughout the day.  If you know that you might be running late from a day trip from your “home” location, packing an extra snack will give you that little extra bit of energy just when you need it.

 This summer I’m planning to visit some friends from college in the DC area, and then I’ll hopefully will be driving/flying out to California to visit another friend from college and see her profess her final vows in the convent where she is a sister in the order of the Carmel of Jesus, Mary and Joseph.

 I’ve uploaded some of my pictures from my trip abroad in 2007 (long before my blog was born!)  I’ve gotten the itch to travel to Europe again and I’m trying to spread that itch to you too 😉

 (what I’ve posted below is just a fraction of the pictures from the trip.)

In Rome, we got to see Pope Benedict!!!

Pope Benedict Papal Audience August 2007

Pope Benedict Papal Audience August 2007

We arrived to Saint Peter’s Square suuuper early that day in order to get as close to the front as possible,

and to get a seat that was close to where the Pope would be driving by.

Pope mobile and media coverage

Pope mobile and media coverage

Around Rome we saw many beautiful Churches and museums:

An incredibly detailed painting on the ceiling of a Church in Rome.

An incredibly detailed painting on the ceiling of a Church in Rome.

Saint John Lateran Basilica (and me)

Saint John Lateran Basilica (and me)

36681541

I’m pretty sure that that’s a reliquary on the altar.

36681451

The Roman Forum

36681524

Saint Paul’s Basilica

The Vatican Museum

The Vatican Museum

A view of St. Peter's Basilica dome from inside the Vatican Gardens

A view of St. Peter’s Basilica dome from inside the Vatican Gardens

A little dog trying to cool off in a foundation in Rome, Italy

A little dog trying to cool off in a foundation in Rome, Italy

Check out that CHEESE!!!

Check out that CHEESE!!!

Now off to Venetia, Italia!!!

My brother D and I on our train to Venice

My brother D. and I on our train to Venice

Venitian waterway

Venitian waterway

Venice by sunset

Venice by sunset

My brother D. is becoming another St. Francis by the looks of this picture.  There were pigeons EVERYWHERE is St. Mark's Square in Venice

My brother D. is becoming another St. Francis by the looks of this picture. There were pigeons EVERYWHERE is St. Mark’s Square in Venice

Dipping my toes in one of the channels in Venice. . . . ah, to be back in Italy!

Dipping my toes in one of the channels in Venice. . . . ah, to be back in Italy!

Off to France!

The Seine River in Paris, France

The Seine River in Paris, France

The Eiffel Tower!!!!

The Eiffel Tower!!!!

St. Genevieve's tomb in the Church of Saints Peter and Paul in Paris

St. Genevieve’s tomb in the Church of Saints Peter and Paul in Paris

The Church and statue of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception where St. Catherine Laboure is buried.  (Mary appeared to St. Catherine in the year 1830 and asked her to have the medal, now known as the Miraculous Medal, made and worn in order to increase devotion to Mary.  Mary said that the people who wear the medal and pray for Mary's intercession on their behalf, will receive many graces.

The Church and statue of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception where St. Catherine Laboure is buried. (Mary appeared to St. Catherine in the year 1830 and asked her to have the medal, now known as the Miraculous Medal, made and worn in order to increase devotion to Mary. Mary said that the people who wear the medal and pray for Mary’s intercession on their behalf, will receive many graces.

Some city that I can't remember in France - isn't it beautiful?!

Some city that I can’t remember in France – isn’t it beautiful?!

Link up over at Morgan’s for more Travel Talk, and link up with Jen for next week’s topic!

Where have you traveled?

Have you traveled in groups or by yourself?

What are some of your tips for traveling?

Do you have any plans for traveling over the spring or summer this year?!?!?!!!

2 Responses to “Travel Talk: Home and Abroad”

  1. Jane March 2, 2015 at 4:33 pm #

    Very cool places you traveled! I hope to go to Europe someday soon as well =]

    • Rfog March 10, 2015 at 9:40 pm #

      Hi Jane, and thanks for stopping by! Europe was beautiful. I hope to travel there again someday. You will love it too!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

