10 Things To Try Before Spring Comes

19 Feb

I found this gem on Verily’s website, and couldn’t resist sharing.

Some of my favorite suggestions were:

– Winter sports – I’ve been ice skating once this winter.  I don’t know how the Olympians do it, but I only dreamed of gracefully flying across the ice on skates 😉  It was a good time.  The place I go for ice skating is a beautiful, open-air arena that serves as an event center in the summer.

– Painting – Last week at a friend’s birthday celebration, we did painting on canvases.  The canvases and acrylic paints were inexpensive, and the actual painting part of it was relatively easy.  If your inner artist is looking for an inexpensive and fun way to shine, pick up some canvases and acrylic at your local Wal-Mart or Hobby Lobby.  Let your talent flow!

Speaking a new language – literally this afternoon I went out to lunch with some of my sisters and we had a conversation with a couple of the employees at the Thai food place about foreign languages.  One of the guys is from Morocco and one is from …. I didn’t catch where.  Somewhere outside the U.S.  But we got talking about languages, and broke out my little bit  of Italian and French that I know.

What are some hobbies or new events you’ve tried this winter?  If so, which one(s) would you try again?  What are some hobbies that you’ve tried but weren’t listed above?  I’d love to hear how you’ve spent your winter months.  (Yes, if you’re from the Southern regions where it’s warmer, you’re welcome to comment too!)

2 Responses to “10 Things To Try Before Spring Comes”

  1. LauraMarieForLife February 20, 2015 at 12:56 pm #

    This is a great idea! I’ve been wanting to go zip lining, but that should probably wait until summer 🙂 And I just might have to join you in painting. I’ve been wanting to get an old school paint by number and re-live childhood!

    • Rfog February 21, 2015 at 1:27 pm #

      Haha, that is great – I loved doing paint by number when I was little 🙂 And you should TOTALLY do zip lining this summer. I went white water rafting for the first time last year and had so much fun. I want to try zip lining sometime too!!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

