Children and Babies

20 Jan
Today for NAS, we are talking about children and babies.  
Be sure to link back up with Jen and Morgan!!
Do you have children in your life? What is your relationship with them like? Do you have godchildren, and how do you form a relationship with them? Does having children in (or not in) your day-to-day life make you feel happy, wistful, or wary (of having your own someday)? Thanks to Lindsay for today’s topic!
0608141310b
 I have five nieces and a nephew, and my six religious education students.  Each has their own unique and sometimes quirky personality, interests, gifts, talents, challenges and insights into life.
Most of my nieces and my nephew live out-of-town, so I see them every few months or so. In town I have one niece.  Isn’t she a cutie?!?!
IMG_20141102_163645167

Me & my niece who lives in town

She is working on her crawling skills.  She can now hold onto furniture and stand up!

Sometimes my heart longs for children of my own.  Sometimes I freak out and get anxious that I don’t have the patience, the love, the wisdom to be a mom.

The responsibility for caring for these souls is lot to think about.

 

HOW in the world would I do it?!  As a catechist, I’m often reminded that it is a huge responsibility to teach kids, needless to say the responsibilities of motherhood and fatherhood.  (You moms and dads – you are superheroes.)

 

IMG952018

Me and my goddaughter

My goddaughter is almost one, so she’s not yet old enough for me to read her Lives of the Saints, or show her how to pray my favorite prayers like the Rosary.

0323131641

Auntie and niece shopping excursion

T. is 8 going on 18.  She is the most intelligent little girl I know.

Do you know an eight year old that can memorize, on her own, the Gettysburg address?  I didn’t think so.

She loves to be a little lady, and is very sophisticated.

0131130930

My nephew’s Star Wars lego creation

This little dude.  He also memorized the Gettysburg address with his older sister.  No big deal.  And he has pretty much the cutest laugh ever.  He likes hiking, wrestling, and legos.  He can read like a trooper.

0315141133

Helping cook.  This is my niece mini-me look-alike.

She is a tender heart and loves playing with her dolls and doing with anything her older sisters are doing.

1225141539a

Silly faces Christmas Day, showing off his new sweatshirt

Each child I care for, listen to, ask questions to, cook for, play with, comfort, laugh with,
sing with, be silly with.  *Sigh* I love them.
2014100895094702

How many girls and stuffed animals can we fit on one rocking horse?

I’ve cried tears of joy and I’ve cried tears of worry or frustration.  “What if this happens to them?”  “Do they feel loved?” “What if that happens?”  “Why don’t they listen?” “Why can’t I do anything about this?” “Why does my student keep talking in class?” “Do I have what it takes to have my own children someday?”
My mom has told me on a number of occasions that God is preparing me for motherhood by allowing me these opportunities.  I pray and trust (and try not to worry.)

Over Christmas break, my nieces and I took a walk with my little brother’s dog.

1225141720

1225141719

Pose 1.  Missing little one on the right.  LOL

1225141719a

Pose 2. Little Miss Sassy Pants is gettin’ on the crazy face.

1225141719b

Pose 3. Little One’s eyes are barely visible – oopsie!

One day over Christmas, my little niece “mini-me” was pulling my hand,
walking through the house to get out another game or book.
I paused in my own thoughts for a moment and gulped back tears.
What a gift to be part of her life.
I have the immense privilege of being part of her life.  She and I are two peas in a pod.
Whenever my brother and his family are in town to visit, she and I spend the ENTIRE weekend together.
Wherever I go, she follows.  Whatever I’m doing, she wants to be part of it.  
My little mini-me has me read the same books to her over and over and over and over again.  Her smiles make my heart melt.  With her innocent little smile, and heart sweeter than honey, it’s nearly impossible to refuse her asking me to read another book.
IMG958492
The kids I teach once a week.
Sometimes I feel like my lessons are exciting and full of learning.
Sometimes I’m so exhausted after a full day of work, that I just want to go home and avoid spending an hour and a half teaching.
BUT.
I’m helping form their souls.
THEIR SOULS.
It’s a big deal guys.
 Children and Babies.  What a precious gift we have.  Let us begin.
3 Responses to “Children and Babies”

  1. natalie @ "here i am" January 21, 2015 at 6:58 am #

    Amen!

  2. Lindsay January 21, 2015 at 11:12 pm #

    Those cuties! I have never taught RE, although I used to teach high school English. It was a humbling experience to have the brains and souls of other people’s children in my classroom every day. I hope I taught them something, even if it was just that all English teachers really are crazy!

  3. Jen @ Jumping in Puddles January 24, 2015 at 2:06 pm #

    Ah! You have so many adorable little kiddos in your life. So amazing!! I feel you on the CCD thing… some days are amazing, others, you just want to get by. It’s overwhelming to think about helping them grow in their faith. I always wonder what little nuggets, if any, stick!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

