Not Alone Series: A Day In The Life

6 Jan
We took a break over the Christmas and New year season,
and now we’re back into the swing of weekly link-ups
to the NAS (Not Alone Series)!  Enjoy!
NAS
Let’s get back in the swing by sharing what our typical day is like! Tell us however you like, minute by minute or a blurb about your day! Be sure to answer these questions: 
 
– What is your favorite part of your day?
– What is your least favorite part of your day?
– Are you making any changes to your daily routine now that the new year has begun?
Morning: Wake up around 7: 20 and get ready for the day.  Morning is the least favorite part of my day insofar as I have a hard time waking up. . . . LOL.  I’m a night owl, not a morning bird.   Part of my motivation to get moving in the morning is putting together stylish and classy outfits to wear at work, so getting ready entails earrings, the occasional bracelet, boots or heels, and fun pops of color (royal blue, red or pink).   I don’t eat breakfast at home every day (which I know is really unhealthy. . .) I eat at work while I type as if the keyboard is on fire, and snack on granola bars and a banana between phone calls 😉  When I do get up early enough to make breakfast, it’s toast and scrambled eggs or cereal.

I start work at 8:30.  My work entails entering orders, writing up purchase orders, answering the phone, maintaining all the online orders from about six websites and a lot of everything else in between.  Most days at work are a bit crazy with demanding customers, funny and loud co-workers, and a business to help run (if I ever go back to school, I will study business/management/marketing – love LOVE the world of business!).  I am one of the 20-ish people who make up the employee base, and I’m the glue that holds the office and the shop together.

Afternoon: Catch up everything that was set aside during the morning rush of orders and phone calls.  I check inventory stock, assemble literature packets to mail, update the repair/returns spreadsheet, answer more emails, sort through and distribute our handy-dandy Gmail voicemails, and get another cup of coffee.

At 2:15 I take a break to play ping-pong in the shop with the guys on their break.  Yes, we have a ping pong table in the shop 🙂  I’m a firm believer in moderation between work and play; it builds camaraderie, and promotes employee morale.  A few of the guys who work in the shop are joke-makers, and I’ve learned to toss their craziness right back at them, so we all tease and joke around for about 20 minutes and then get back to work.

Evening: (Favorite part of the day!)Home by 5:30 / 5:45 Eat dinner, wash the dishes (or hope one of my sisters does them for me ;-). )  We share a house, so it’s a pretty nice deal.  I call the house the “bachelorette pad”.  One of our newer past-times is “Just Dance” on my wii.  (That’s some good cardio right there!).  I also catch up on social media, play with the dog, and blog.  Usually as I wind down for the evening I pray the Rosary and read a passage from Scripture or read from a prayer book.

Wednesday evenings I teach 5th grade religious education at one of the local Catholic churches.  My weekends are filled with cleaning the house, playing with Teddi (the dog), doing laundry, hanging out with friends, prayer and reading, and visiting my parents and two youngest siblings.

That pretty much sums it up!  Oh yeah, if I make any changes to my routine in the New Year, it will be 1) eating breakfast before leaving for work, 2) Going to daily Mass more frequently, 3) getting to bed at a decent hour (notice the time?!  It’s 11:22pm!)

For more reading on the Not Alone Series: A Day In The Life, head over to Jen’s and Morgan’s!

2 Responses to “Not Alone Series: A Day In The Life”

  1. Katie Herzing January 7, 2015 at 9:52 pm #

    I do the same work (ie: office admin stuff) you do, but don’t seem to have as much fun! New Year’s Resolution is to create more laughter around our place while still getting our work done!

  2. Nikki January 8, 2015 at 2:41 pm #

    A ping pong table at work, I’m not that great because an 8 year beat me quite a few times but that sounds like something I could get behind.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

