7 Quick Takes: Keep Calm and Advent On!

11 Dec
1211142310

The centerpiece on our table, which is one of the few decorations we have out for Christmas

Advent seems to have swung in super quickly and is already halfway over!  It’s not like I’ve been busy or anything. . . .

Just working full time, teaching religious ed., visiting my family, going out to dinner with my Grandpa, Christmas shopping, cleaning my living room carpet, taking care of my sister’s dog, having my parents and siblings over for dinner, more Christmas shopping, work, doing dishes, paying bills.  Whew!

Here’s what I’ve been up to this week: (I’m writing the 7QT’s a day early)

1. Doggy-sat for my sister’s dog Teddi (who is about 3 months) last weekend while she was out of town.

Teddi

Teddi sleeping next to me on the couch

Since his name is Teddi, I call him “Teddi bear” and sing to him the Gummy Bears theme song and insert his name in place of “gummy.”

1211142232

Teddi eating one of his toys

1207141418

Sleeping on his back next to me after Mass last Sunday.  Isn’t his position hilarious?!  He’s not curled up like dogs (I thought) typically do when sleeping.  

I taught him how to climb down the basement stairs too.  I am quite proud of that!  He was hesitant to come down with me last week, so I carried him down.  Then, next time I went down, he kinda started to come, but hesitated, so I encouraged him, and moved his feet with my hands to show him how it works.  Next thing you know, he’s up and down the stairs like nobody’s business!

1114141916

Teddi sneaking around the kitchen

2. My mom and I went Christmas shopping at Meijer last week (if you’re not familiar with the store, it has everything: groceries, household items, clothes, yard work supplies, etc.  Basically it’s a one-stop-shop.)  We spent about three hours there walking through nearly every aisle talking, shopping and just enjoying each other’s company.  I thought about getting this mug for my sister J. who has the dog, but I refrained (isn’t it hilarious though?!) (Her dog is hypo-allergenic and doesn’t shed hair, so this mug wouldn’t have applied to her dog anyways, but I thought it was funny.)

1207141635_0001

3. I have some of my supplies out to make some Christmas cards, but haven’t started yet.  I better get on that soon!

Card-making supplies

Card-making supplies

4. Recently I found a cool store that’s a discount store for items that have been refused by other stores since the boxes or wrapping are dented, etc.  I found a tiny string of white lights for the Christmas tree that I put up at work on my desk.

Christmas lights

You can’t beat such a cute little box of white lights for $1

5. This year my sisters and I are going to buy a REAL pine Christmas tree to put up at our place.  I am ECSTATIC!  We haven’t had a real tree since we were very young.  And yes, that means that we don’t have our tree up yet, which makes me kinda sad, but that’s because we’ve been so darned busy.  Poop.  But that’s okay.  All in good time.

6.  During religion class last evening, we talked about making sacrifices during Advent.  A few times growing up, my family had a “sacrifice jar” during Advent or Lent.  My mom cut pieces of paper up to look like straw, and then the pieces of paper then transferred from the jar to another jar each time we made a little sacrifice, each piece of paper representing a sacrifice and ulimately a gift to the baby Jesus to fill his manger with straw.  I encouraged my students to make their own at home and to do it with their families.  I’m excited to see whether or not they try it!

7. Tomorrow is my work Christmas party.  I. can’t. wait! We always rent a hall, have a buffet style dinner, and a pool tournament.  I’m not that great at pool, but it’s just fun to hang out, have fun, eat good food, and celebrate the season.  Something I’m most excited about for the party tomorrow is getting all dressed up.  I LOVE getting dressed up, styling my hair in a fancy “do”, wearing diamonds or pearls, and painting my nails.

Ps, tomorrow Demember 16th) is the feast day of Our Lady of Guadalupe.  She appeared to a Juan Diego in Mexico in 1531.  You can read more about the apparition here.

-Rachel

2 Responses to “7 Quick Takes: Keep Calm and Advent On!”

  1. Joan December 12, 2014 at 6:48 pm #

    Happy Friday, Rachel! My roommates and I are putting up a real tree this year too! Okay and maybe I am just noticing this now, but does your blog’s background have white snowflake moving objects?! I love it!! 🙂

    • Rfog December 14, 2014 at 10:57 pm #

      Hi Joan! You’re getting a real tree too?! Oh, those are the best. I haven’t had a real tree since I was little, so I’m ecstatic! The real trees smell amazing. My blog background does have white snowflakes. They are automatically populated from WordPress 😉

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

