Giving Thanks

27 Nov

This Thanksgiving I will be traveling with my sisters to visit our oldest brother and his wife and their five children.  I’m the godmother of their youngest.  She is one adorable baby.  The second youngest in their family I call my mini-me.  She and I look a lot alike!  She follows me around and gives me smiles that melt my heart.  It will be a wonderful time this weekend as we all cook, bake, catch up on life, and sit back and enjoy one others’ company.  There are a lot of people in my family and we wouldn’t have it any other way.  We are each other’s friends, mentors and side kicks.  We laugh, act silly, and fake laugh at each other’s cheesy jokes.  We throw around a lot of sass and sarcasm too 😉 There are few things better than family.

While there is a lot of crazy going on the world, there are so many more things to be grateful for than there are to get discouraged about.

This evening I was texting one of my friends who lives quite a distance from me.  We both shared what we are thankful for this year.  Here is the list I shared with her:

  • Faith
  • Family
  • My job
  • My co-workers
  • Sacraments
  • Warm house
  • Friends
  • Good education
  • Books

Earlier in the week I was teaching my 5th grade religious education class.  I had my students write down things that they are thankful for.  Some of the things we came up with were:

  • Clothes
  • Friends
  • Teachers (aw shucks 😉 )
  • Friends
  • Faith
  • Mass
  • Running water that is clean
  • Shoes

What are you thankful for this season?  I’m thankful for all of you.  I hope you have a very blessed and peace-filled Thanksgiving.  Like I told one of my co-workers today, forget the stress and remember what this season is all about – Give thanks, for the Lord is good!

Be safe and stay warm, my friends!

Love and Prayers,

Rachel

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

