NAS: How Do You Pray At Home?

19 Nov

NAS pic

Today’s NAS topic:

How do you pray at home? Do you have a special place in your house? How do you make that area special? Comfy chair?Prayer cards? What suggestions do you have to make a home altar? If you don’t do this, in what ways can you begin?

Good call on whomever chose this topic!

Prayer is something that I do best in silent moments, at home in my room, or during Mass.  I can pray in a group like I do every Sunday at Mass, and with family and friends.  But my preferred method of prayer is to pray alone.  My prayer is focused and deep during those moments of silence mental prayer.

I use visuals to remind me of God, who hears and answers all our prayers.  The visuals also remind me of the power and importance of prayer.

This picture of the Sacred Heart of Jesus is on the wall in my room.

This image of Jesus makes me feel like I’m talking directly to Him.  The look in His eyes makes me remember that I am, in actuality, talking directly to Him – that I can be open, honest, and ask Him for His advice and for the needs in my life and on my heart.  I pray looking at this picture every day.

The picture actually has a unique story behind it.  Growing up, my siblings and I had a playhouse in our back yard.  In the playhouse, we had this picture of the Sacred Heart.  I don’t know when the picture was brought out and hung in the playhouse, but i remember seeing it when we were playing dress up and hanging out with friends in the play house.

Well, at one point when I was in 8th grade or high school, we were cleaning out the playhouse, and one of my siblings said that the picture was old and that we should donate it.  Well, I liked the picture and wanted to keep it for my own, so I said I would keep it.  I’ve had this picture ever since, and it now hangs on the wall where i see it every day, reminding me to pray.

This statue of Mary was given to me by my parents for my First Holy Communion.  This image of Mary reminds me of Mary’s vocation to motherhood.  She is the best woman I can ask for advice regarding relationships and how to practice virtue in my own life.  Mary is a big deal to me.  God would not have chosen any woman to be His mother.  Hence, Mary.  She’s got what it takes to be a holy woman.

.1118142302a

We pray in repetition for kind of the same reason a child will call on their parents over and over again saying, “mom, I’m hungry.  Mom, I’m hungry.  MOM I’M HUNGRY.”  Your voice gets heard and mom (Mary) is attentive to our needs.  And she directs us to dad (Father in Heaven) as well.  Plus, she’s the Mother of God.  That’s a pretty big deal.

This is my Bible that I like to pray with.

1118142335

My favorite books are Psalms and Sirach.  I received this Bible from my older sister my first week of college and since then I’ve marked a lot of pages and underlined passages that have stood out to me.

Last but not least is my Pieta prayer book.

1118142333

This prayer book is full of amazing prayers.

Do yourself a favor and buy it.  You’ll be so glad you did.

Thanks for stopping by!  Go visit Jen‘s to see what everyone else is saying about praying at home.

4 Responses to “NAS: How Do You Pray At Home?”

  1. Laura @ Life is Beautiful November 19, 2014 at 9:52 am #

    Love the way you added pictures of your aids to prayer! Also love the Sacred Heart picture story. 🙂

    Um, and also love you! 😉

    • Rfog November 22, 2014 at 12:13 am #

      ❤ Love you too, Laura!

  2. Jen @ Jumping in Puddles November 22, 2014 at 12:18 pm #

    I love seeing how everyone prays at home. It’s so fun!

    That Pieta prayer book sounds very interesting. 🙂 I will have to look into that!

  3. Lindsay November 26, 2014 at 6:45 pm #

    That’s my favorite Bible edition, too! Well, I have the second edition, but it’s still the Ignatius edition RSV. The language seems just right.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

