Monday Morning Reflection on Redemptive Suffering

3 Nov

When I read a good book, I will sometimes write down a quote or a passage that I hope to remember.  The following is one of those passages that stood out to me:

To reject the chalice, to accept it unwillingly, to feel sorry for ourselves is, as a matter of fact, to deny the faith we profess.  on the other hand, faith incarnates itself and lives only in the ordeal of suffering.”

(The title of the book has escaped me.  I give full credit to whomever the author is.  )

When we have crosses and suffering come our way, do we complain and begrudgingly drag our feet about it or do we accept our sufferings with confidence and trust in God’s assistance?  Do I pick up my daily crosses and follow Christ, or do I shun the cross with disdain?  (Honestly, it’s oftentimes difficult for me to accept my crosses and to carry them following Christ’s lead.)  With confident trust in God’s mercy, I run to Him and plead with Him, “Lord, you know my needs.  You know what I need better than I do, and You know what is heavy on my heart.  Please provide for me today and help me have a greater trust in your Divine Providence and Mercy.”

Yesterday at Mass, the priest’s homily was an encouragement for us to be accountability partners to each other for not only our physical health, but also our spiritual health.

Have you prayed yet today?  Please join me saying the following prayer:

Invocation of the Holy Wounds of Our Lord Jesus Christ:

“Eternal Father, I offer Thee the Wounds of Our Lord Jesus Christ to heal the wounds of our souls.  My Jesus, pardon and mercy through the merits of Thy Sacred Wounds.”

May God bless you and yours as we begin our first week in November!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

