7 Quick Takes: Competition Follow-up, Humorous Moments, and Great Bargains!

31 Oct

7 Quick Takes Friday

Hi, and welcome to any first-time visitors!  Feel free to leave a comment!

 

1.  Remember in my post from last week how I mentioned we were going to complete?  How did you do?????  I’m sure you did great!  I did well too, and I said “Hi” or made conversation with thirteen people who I didn’t know.  How did you do??!!!??

 

2.  Random stuff has been happening all week at work.  It’s random and hilarious and has been making us laugh A LOT. Like earlier in the week, I was getting out of my car at work, and was carrying my lunch in a grocery bag.  As I carried the bag out of the car, I noticed that the water from the veggie of choice was dripping all over things, including my leather jacket (which was no-so-funny)…..and then yesterday at work I made the “turkey call” as I was walking through the shop.  It caught everyone off guard and gave them a good laugh.  I’ve had some hilarious conversations with the ladies who work in accounting, and today I imitated one of them saying, “baaaaby” using her drawl, and we all ended up laughing really hard.

 

3.  Then yesterday one of my co-workers caught me laughing out tears at this video.

 

4.  After work today I stopped by our local Adoration chapel.  When I left and was walking out to my car, a red-tailed hawk flew right past my head. (!!!!)  It was both alarming and fascinating.  It’s really odd because that’s not the first time that’s happened in that parking lot.  Several weeks back, one of my sisters and I were talking with an acquaintance in the parking lot there, and the hawk flew right over our heads then.  Very interesting.

 

5.  For the past few years, I’ve been a volunteer for the 40 Days For Life campaign here in town.  This year I was *almost* ready to tell the coordinator that my schedule was too busy, but the grace of God, or my guilt for not having a very good excuse, signed myself up again as a volunteer for this year.  This week I went to pray at the prayer tent that is set up across the street from a Planned Parenthood facility where abortions have been performed.  During prayer, I reflected on the beauty of life, and how delicate and vulnerable the unborn are.  There are so many babies who are aborted simply from the fact that they were given a pre-birth diagnosis of a health defect or heart condition, or whatever.  If we don’t speak up for them and pray for them, who will?  We also need to pray for the people who are in danger of euthanasia.

 

5.  I found this delicious salted caramel apple recipe yesterday, which I want to make for when I go to my friend Laura’s house on Saturday.

 

6.  These earrings I got for a deal at NY&C!  I also found a blouse and a sweater to add to my winter wardrobe.  The styles and sizes at NY&C are just so. me.  I love it!

 

7.  What are you grateful for today?  I’m grateful for my job, my Catholic Faith, my family (a huge shout-out to my cousin and her boyfriend, who came to my house last Sunday for a visit and for the wonderful conversation and quality time we had.  You guys ROCK!  Oh, and PS, next time we play Cranium, I’m gonna whoopathize 😉 ) Thankful also for my co-workers who keep things interesting throughout the day, my sister-in-law who helped paint the almost-completed-newly-transformed-bedroom in my house this evening, and thankful for weekends.

 

8. (I know having a #8 is kind of cheating, but not really, so I’m including #8 anyways.  Sshh…Just don’t tell Jen) This week when I taught the 5th grade CCD, I also taught the 6th graders because their teacher was unable to be there.  The kids were fun (read after I separated the two classes for a while because they wouldn’t be quiet) and we played a game of “Name that Saint” where I would say a description of a saint and they had to guess which one it was.  For their reward I tossed a candy bar to whomever had the correct answer.  It was a lot of fun and every. single. kid. was at “attention.”  Candy+competition=success!

 

PS.  Last week I promised that I would write about vinegar & honey cold remedies, and I never wrote the post.  Why?  Because I totally forgot.  Oops.  I promise to write that post soon.

 

How was your week?  Did you do any house projects?  Did you carve pumpkins or rake leaves?  Do you have any books that you recommend?  I need to get some more books for the library so I have more reading for the upcoming weeks.

 

What are you doing this weekend?  Have fun and Happy All Saints Day!!!

Love & Prayers,

Rach

2 Responses to “7 Quick Takes: Competition Follow-up, Humorous Moments, and Great Bargains!”

  1. Jessica Snell October 31, 2014 at 1:17 pm #

    We have redtail hawks around here, too! I love seeing them, because we’re right in the middle of the city, in the Los Angeles basin, and there’s still wildlife like hawks!

    • Rfog November 3, 2014 at 7:45 am #

      Hi Jessica! Thanks for stopping by! That’s neat that you have redtail hawks in your area – in the middle of a huge city! I’ve also seen a red fox in my neighborhood on occasion. I think the fox lives down by the river that’s nearby, and comes this way to forage as the weather gets cold.

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

