7 Quick Takes Friday: You and I are Going To Compete!

23 Oct

7 Quick Takes Friday

 

 You are I are going to compete, and the challenge is at the bottom of this post.  No cheating!  And the winner gets

the book called “I Believe in Love” by Fr. Jean D’Elbee. 

1.  At work during the past couple weeks, I’ve dropped the phone no less than four times…….on accident….while on the phone…*cough* oopsie!

 

2.  Just last week I got Jennifer Fulwiler’s book “Something Other Than God” from the library, and it’s so good that I can barely put it down.  I brought it to work and read it on every break.  I love her openness, and her writing style.  Simply wonderful.  In this book, she shares her life story from the time she was eleven years old to current day, in which she shares her conversion from Atheism to Catholicism.

 

3.  Hey Readers, I have a question for you.  Do you see a lot of hurt in the world, and a lot of suffering and a lot of people being just plain dumb with theirs lives?  Please tell me that you see it too.  Please tell me that I’m not the only one that desperately wants to help people and change lives and DO work in people’s lives that will help them make good decisions and to help them avoid letting their lives go literally to pot.  I’m not kidding guys.  We need to help people.  Here is a constructive way to start today: start looking people in the eye and smiling.  If you’re willing to take it a step further, say “hi!” and if you’re feeling really courageous, make a comment that will make them smile or laugh, or both.  Think of someone in your life that needs a boost, and make a conscious effort to text them and hang out with them in the next week.  Our world is incredibly self-centered (I’m guilty of it too!) and we need to reach out, away from our cell phones and remotes and make someone else feel loved today.

 

4.  My face is, like I’ve mentioned before, quite talented when it comes to blushing.  It can turn from a soft, very subtle shade of pink to bright, brilliant, FLAMING red in less than 0.2 seconds.  And yes, that happened at work last week while I was talking with one of our vendors.  Thankfully my hair was not pulled back that day, making it convenient to look down at the ground, allowing my hair to sweep over my face, hiding the red…temporarily.  Cause you can only stare at the ground for so long before you look silly…;-)

 

5.  This past weekend I drove out to visit my older brother, his wife and their family in Ohio.  It was a really good time and I got a lot of time with the nieces and nephew.  We played Legos, watched some football, read books, baked peach crisp, and played with the girls’ dolls called “Lolla Loopsie.”  I got in some godmother time with my sweet little goddaughter.  She’s only several months old, so it took her a little bit of time for her to warm up to me, but before too long, she was letting me hold her and give her kisses on her angel-soft cheeks.

 

6.  A couple days ago, I was interviewed about living the single years.  Stop on over and check it out!

 

7.  I know God is calling me to marriage, but I sometimes (*read every day*) struggle with fear and imagine my days away on the “what ifs” of the future, and fear is a large part of that.  Cindy over at The Veil of Chastity wrote about Fear and her post spoke directly to my heart.  We are not called to be perfect, and that is okay.  We must do our best, and give the rest to God.  You would love what she has to say about fear.  I hope her words speak as much to your heart as they did to mine!

 

7a.  Next week I’ll be writing about how to care for a sinus cold using vinegar and honey.  Stay tuned!

 

***Friends, before you click outta here, please re-visit the little part I wrote at the beginning of the blog today, because YOU AND I ARE GOING TO COMPETE!!  Here is my challenge to you, and I’ll let you know my results next week.  Let’s see who can talk to the most people at the store, gas station, fast food, grocery store & library, people you don’t know yet.  You talk with these people as much as you like, as long as you at the very least say, “Hi.” and look them in the eye.  Are you ready?!!   Okay, here we go!  GAME ON!!  (I’m competitive, so the game is reeally on!)

 

See you next week!

Ps., For more 7QT’s, visit Jen over at Conversion Diary!

Love,

Rachel

5 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Friday: You and I are Going To Compete!”

  1. LauraMarieForLife October 24, 2014 at 9:55 am #

    Oooh, dropping the phone at work. That must have been somewhat awkward 🙂 I so agree about SOTG! It was a great read. I see so much hurt in the world, and I love your point about smiling at people. A really beautiful way I’ve worked on this is through sidewalk counseling outside abortion clinics – quite a tangible way to reach out to people. Sounds like such a fun time playing with your nieces and nephew, and Cindy’s post really helped me too. Here’s to a lovely weekend!

    • Rfog October 24, 2014 at 7:13 pm #

      Thanks! I hope you have a lovely weekend too, Laura!

  2. theveilofchastity October 24, 2014 at 12:40 pm #

    Thank you for the shout out, Rachel! Praying for you (and you too LauraMarieForLife)! Love and blessings, Cindy

    • Rfog October 24, 2014 at 7:14 pm #

      Awe, Cindy!! Thank you for the prayers – you ROCK! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Quick Takes: Competition Follow-up, Humorous Moments, and Great Bargains! | Keeping-It-Real - October 31, 2014

    […]  Remember in my post from last week how I mentioned we were going to complete?  How did you do?????  I’m sure you did great!  I did well too, […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

