7 Quick Takes Friday: Camping & Coconut Oil

2 Oct

7 Quick Takes Friday

Hello Friends, and HAPPY ALMOST WEEKEND!!

What do you have goin’ on this weekend?  Taking’ it easy?  Projects planned?  Studying?  Visiting family or friends?

Here’s a quick peek into what I’ve been up to this week:

1. Yesterday I talked to a man sitting on the side of the road yesterday.  Don’t worry, it was in a high-traffic area, and he was at the edge of a parking lot, and I walked over and said hi to him and we conversed for a little bit.  He was really friendly and had a wonderful smile.  I have found that sometimes the most generous people are those with the least to give. He said he was living paycheck to paycheck.  The smile on his face as we spoke was contagious and brought a smile to my face.  Sometimes a smile is all we need to make a difference.  His pleasant demeanor and smile certainly brightened my day.

2. Here are some tidbits on dating and relationships.  Over the course of my dating years, I’ve also learned a thing or two (or more ;-).  Three factors that I believe to be of utmost importance are: communication (patient and forgiving), quality time, and service.  These three things combined can take a mediocre relationship to a soaring relationship, if given the chance.  That said, no relationship is perfect.  True.  That’s a given.  But why not shoot for the stars?!  If you’re looking for your relationship to show more than a small glow and want to see it burning brightly with love, try these three tips.

3. Camping this past weekend was AMAZING!!  The weather was perfect.  It didn’t rain and it was sunny and hot.  We had a group total of about fourteen guys and girls.  Everyone was either in their 30’s or mid-twenties.  We had bonfires, went canoeing, playing ultimate frisbee, and even got some guitar time in around the campfire.  Oh!  I almost forgot!  One of the guys brought along his miniature harmonica.  It was TINY!  And he could play it.  The harmonica was probably about two inches long – tiny I tell you.

IMG_4013

Having deep conversation around the campfire Saturday morning

IMG_4037

WATER FIGHT!!

IMG_4017

Sisters & Friends

IMG_4040

Canoes (duh)

IMG_4043

A bat that we found struggling in the water, so we rescued him and brought him safely to shore

IMG_4039

Muddling our way through lilly pads and duckweed

That was our fourth annual young adult camping trip.  It’s a big deal.  We always have so much fun and look forward to this trip every year.  I’m already looking forward to next year’s trip.

4. In the past week I’ve squished more spiders and gnats than I care to think about.  Interestingly, spiders used to scare me a bit more than they do now.  Plus, without a guy around, I have to “man up” and squish them myself.  But if I was married, I would of course probably act more scared than necessary and have him squish all the bugs, to which I would say, “Thanks Darling!”

5. Today I bought coconut oil.  It can be used for so many things.  Check it out here.

6.  Last week I mentioned that I had some exciting news to announce.  I recently met another blogger, Brenda via Beth Anne, who I had the pleasure of meeting in Savannah this summer. In a few weeks I’m going to be interviewed on Brenda’s blog!  Thanks in advance, Brenda!

7.  One of my friends and I text each other every day during the work week and ask what the other is grateful for that day.  Today my “gratefuls” were: patterns, bold colors, curly hair (I had a good curly hair day) and creativity.  What are YOU grateful for today?  Comment below – I’d love to share in your gratitude.

Rest, be good, laugh, sing & dance.  All we have is the now.  Let us live it to the fullest.  God bless you all and have a safe and restful weekend!

For more Quick Takes, head on over to our delightful hostess, Jennifer Fulwiler!  Have you read her book?!  It’s funny, serious, and insightful.  Check it out.

(PS. Know of my prayers for you.  I haven’t met most of you, although I would like to.  I don’t know whether or not we share the same beliefs, but I do know that either way, we are brothers and sisters of the Lord, and I care for you even though I haven’t met you.  I believe that the power of prayer is very strong and that we can change lives and heal hearts through prayer.  Know of my prayers for you and your dear ones.)

Until next time, keep it real.

-Rachel

4 Responses to “7 Quick Takes Friday: Camping & Coconut Oil”

  1. LauraMarieForLife October 3, 2014 at 10:13 am #

    Love it, Rachel! The camping trip looks like so much fun. And I can’t wait to hear about your coconut oil adventures! It makes a fabulous leg scrub, and I’ve heard it can do wonders for dry hair. And so much more! Have you cooked with it?

    That’s really awesome about texting your friend with something you’re grateful for. How awesome! I’m thankful for confession, coffee, and the coming fall. Also, weekends! Would you keep my pro-life club in your prayers? And a family back home who recently lost their mom? If you have any intentions, I’d be happy to remember them in my prayers!

    • RAnn October 3, 2014 at 9:01 pm #

      Next weekend we are taking three Girl Scout troops from our parish up to the GS camp to spend the day. I can hardly wait.

      • Rfog October 4, 2014 at 5:54 pm #

        Hello and thanks for stopping by! That sounds like so much fun – you are pretty much guarantee a good time while camping 🙂 I’ve helped out at a girls’ camp before and so many fun memories are made there. Have a wonderful weekend!

    • Rfog October 4, 2014 at 5:52 pm #

      Hi Laura! I have used the coconut oil in stir fry and for pancakes & eggs as a non-stick alternative from cooking oil or spray. I have not yet tried it in my hair 😉 I’m a bit intimidated about trying it in my hair, although I hear it’s really good, especially in winter when the weather is more dry.

      I will definitely keep your prayer intentions in my prayers as well. Thanks and have a superb weekend!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

