7 Quick Takes: Sunsets, Autumn & Why I Can’t Laugh at Drunk People

25 Sep

7 Quick Takes Friday

Hello!!!  How are you?  Thank you for stopping by!  I love hearing from you, so feel free to comment below.  Also, if you are a first-time visitor, please be sure to comment below – I’d love to meet you!

My blog just celebrated it’s second anniversary!  Woot woot!

Stay tuned – I have some fun news to announce next week!

1.  I’ve admired sunsets before, but this summer I’ve seemed to notice or maybe appreciate them more than before.

Can we just say amazingly beautiful?

Can we just say amazingly beautiful?

It looks like the sun is one fire

The sky looks like it’s on fire!

0905140825

Just breathe. . . . . Ahhh

2.  A funny moment at work today:

One of my male co-workers who is in his 70’s says, “I got a nut stuck in my tooth.”

Me, “Do you need some floss?”

Co-worker, “No, I can just take my teeth out.”

LOLOLOL, didn’t mean to go there, but if he was okay with it, then okay!

3.  Fall is officially in the air.  This past weekend I went with some friends to a festival where the vendors are required to wear 1800’s style clothes.  This festival draws thousands of people every year.  The vendors sell chicken & dumplings, caramel apples, cider, maple syrup and all sorts of fall-style food.  One of the festival’s stipulations for vendors is that they can’t use electricity – it all has to be time-period of 1800’s, so if they cook, it’s gonna have to be over the fire.  Can you imagine what it would be like cooking over a fire all day long?  You’d be sure to be a pro by the end of the day!

0921141322

Here is a vendor’s wood supply in the foreground.

And check out the sweet fife & drum corp.

0921141317

4.  So . . . . has anyone else noticed TONS of BEES flying around lately?  They are ev.ery.where.

5.  This week, one of my friends and I were talking about drinking.  We both like to have a drink on occasion, whether it be wine or a mixed drink.  We were talking about why we don’t get tipsy or drunk.  When I have a glass of wine of a mixed drink, I choose to be in control.  I don’t let my drink(s) take control of me.  I would be unable to respect myself if I lost sense of my faculties and got out of control.  (I’ve never been drunk, and choose to be responsible for my actions.  What a sad life and how much I miss out on, tsk tsk. *note sarcasm*)  I do not consider myself “better” for not over-indulging.  I do, however, consider myself responsible for choosing to remain in full control of my body and faculties.  I believe that alcohol in moderation is a good thing.  Abuse of alcohol is just that: abuse.  That is why I can’t laugh at drunk people.  They have allowed the alcohol to take control of them, leaving them unable to control their actions (which can lead to bad scenarios.)

It’s an honor and a privilege to meet with friends for a drink.  And it’s more enjoyable when everyone is having conversation and drinking moderately.    Will you join me in drinking responsibly?

6. A couple weeks ago, a friend and I took a walk at the YMCA on their outdoor walking path.  After our walk, we went inside to work on a project and found this note that some little kid accidentally left behind.

0831141251

This note is so sweet and sincere.  This child, whoever he or she is, is quite an outstanding individual!

7.  This weekend I’m going camping.  I’ve been looking forward to this day for weeks.  I’ve been camping nearly every year since I was a baby.  Camping is something that holds so many good memories for me: hiking, swimming in rivers, nature walks, mountains, sandy beaches, and family adventures.  The camping trip this weekend will be with friends from both near and far.  We will be canoeing, playing ultimate Frisbee, having bonfires, praying together, playing basketball and eating campfire food.  I’ll be sure to post some pictures when we return!

What do you all have planned for the weekend?  I hope you have a blessed, safe, and fun weekend!  

For more 7 Quick Takes, head on over to Jen’s!!   Take a peak at what she’s been up to – I’m so impressed by her.  She’s just wonderful!

Until next time,

Rachel

One Response to “7 Quick Takes: Sunsets, Autumn & Why I Can’t Laugh at Drunk People”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Quick Takes Friday: Camping & Coconut Oil | Keeping-It-Real - October 2, 2014

    […]  Last week I mentioned that I had some exciting news to announce.  I recently met another blogger, Brenda via Beth […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

