Chivalry, Yes Please and Thank You!

9 Sep

NAS pic

Today’s topic for NAS:

Chivalry should not become a lost art and we, as women, ought to step up to the plate a bit more and encourage men to treat us as women, thereby respecting them as men. Do you have tips, ideas, or stories to encourage men to be… men?! Open doors for us, initiate dates, honor us as women, etc? Let’s chat!

 

A couple years ago when my blog was just beginning, I wrote a post about chivalry.  I won’t go into super great detail in today’s post, because I’ve written previously on this very topic, which you can read in my original post 🙂  

 

I love me some guys who are gentlemanly and strong.  Strong both physically and emotionally.  And by emotionally strong, I mean that they are both tuned-into and get the fact that girls are more emotional than guys, and that girls both like and need to be treated like ladies.  We need to be affirmed in our womanhood by guys playing their part in being chivalrous.  (And women, we need to let the men be MEN!  Ladies, let’s let the guys be nice and treat us like ladies.  Let us encourage manly behavior.  Let us let the guys compliment us: our style, our cooking, our outfits, etc.  Rather than brush off a compliment with an, “you really think it looks good???!”, perhaps instead receive the compliment with a, “Why, thank you!” and smile and look the guy in the eye.  It will be the affirmation he needs to keep treating you with respect.

That being said, here’s a shout-out to the guys:

Dear Guys:

Any guy who is reading this, thank YOU for being a man.  Thank you for taking the time and effort to treat us women well.  Thank you for listening, for caring, for trying to understand us (I know darn well that’s a hard thing to do.)  Thank you for aspiring for greatness and for being the kind of guy that we can look up to with admiration.  

Thank you for: your phone calls (thank you for your courage in taking the initiative to ask us on a date and for calling just to say hi or ask about our day!), and for your gestures of admiration (hey, a wink never hurt anyone, right?), for giving us your seat, even though you’re tired (it gives a good example to other guys when you are chivalrous), and for shoveling the snow when it’s 10 below (Seriously.  You must be Superman.)  

Dear man who opened the door for me on my lunch break today, ahh, you made my day!  Golly.  I can’t sing enough praises of chivalry.

Want to know more of my thoughts on chivalry?  You’ll find this post enlightening.

 

K.  Now that you’ve read my thoughts on chivalry, what do YOU think?  Pretty please, leave me your opinion.  I really want to hear what you have to say on this topic.

Want to know what my friends think of chivalry?  Click here.

Talk to you soon!

 

Rach

 

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

