NAS: We’re Back!!!

2 Sep
NAS
Hello Friends!!!
The NAS (Not Alone Series) is starting back up today!  Our most recent link-up was a few weeks ago here, and now that we’re officially back into writing, here is today’s topic:
 
As we get into the swing of things with NAS, what other ways can we be more involved at church or in our communities? Is there a parish ministry you have been wanting to help with or start up? What about that after school program for homeless kids? Has something been preventing you from getting involved? How do you think this will help you personally, spiritually, and emotionally?
 
This is very interesting.
I was JUST the other day talking with my dad about me wanting to get into some sort of ministry.
Whether that be through Church, volunteer in the local community, etc.
 
What I actually will be starting in a couple weeks is teaching religious education on the side to 5th graders (which, if you think about it, can you please pray that we have a strong year academically, emotionally and spiritually – thanks in advance!)
 
Something that’s been on my mind is getting more involved in heading up young adult social groups.  (In college I was Assistant Director of Social Affairs.)
 
Coordinating and organizing events is something that I am good at.
I am good at making the phone calls, asking the questions to figure out a plan, and I’m good at getting things rolling.
 
A while back, I got together a group of young adults for dinner.  It was very easy.
I put out the notice via email to a group I had had a Bible study group with.
The email was something along the lines of:
 
“This Thursday, at 6:00pm, at (fill-in-the-blank-restaurant), I’m getting a group of young adults to get together for dinner.  Please RSVP – I hope you can join in the fun!”
 
The turnout was really good, everyone had a good time, and several people asked me to let them know the next time I arrange another dinner.
 
It was a reminder for me that not only I, but other young adults, have a social need.  We want to meet other like-minded young adults and we want to hang out, talk, eat and share ideas and enjoy life together.
 
So, from here, I guess it’s something that I will pray about more intentionally.  Perhaps God would like to see me make this a more regular event.
 
I think planning more of this sort of event would help me in various ways:
 
– I love to serve.  It’s just in my DNA.  Or whatever.  I like to make people happy.
– It makes me happy when I can make someone else happy.
– Another really great plus of heading these social activities up, would be that I get to hang out with other fun individuals.  (I mean, come on, it’s not that hard.  AND, if it starts taking off the ground even more, I’ll ask everyone to bring a friend, that way, the group can expand.)
 
Do you have any ideas of something fun, adventurous, new that I could do with the young adults in my area?  If you do, let me know and I’d LOVE to get your input.
 
For more on today’s topics, visit Jen & Morgan!  These wonderful ladies and are fun, talented, and I think you should stop by their blogs to see what they’re all about 🙂
 
 
Until next time, friends, keep it real 🙂  God bless you all!
 
-Rach
4 Responses to “NAS: We’re Back!!!”

  1. Natalie @ Here I Am September 2, 2014 at 8:04 pm #

    That’s awesome, it seems like you already have a group of young adults that are excited to get together. I think with fall coming up there are alot of fall themed activities to do. Also maybe someone could host a foods from around the world potluck or a brunch potluck. Wine tasting and a hike could also change it up from the typical dinner out.

    • Rfog September 3, 2014 at 11:13 am #

      Hi Natalie!! Thanks for stopping by! Ooh, I like those ideas 🙂 I’m all for mixing things up with a hike, potluck, etc. Thank you for your ideas – I’ll let you know how things progress with the group. Do you have a young adult community in your area?

  2. Jen @ Jumping in Puddles September 5, 2014 at 7:51 pm #

    So awesome that you love coordinating those types of things!! 🙂 I say, FOR SURE keep doing it!

    And, prayers for CCD! I know you will do great. Be yourself and the kids will love you, and learn lots and lots!

    • Rfog September 6, 2014 at 5:39 pm #

      Aww, thanks for the encouragement & affirmation, Jen!! I’m sure that you are an awesome nurse to your students too and that they love you!!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

