7 Quick Takes (Vol. 5?)

22 Aug

Hello Friends!

 

I’m not sure when I wrote my last 7QT (7 Quick Takes) post, but it’s been a while, so I decided it’s high time to jump back on the band wagon – yeee haw!

1)  It’s currently 10:55pm.  I THRIVE on late-night cleaning, reading, writing, and eating.  I’m most definitely a night owl.  Does anyone else have their best cleaning moments at 10:30 pm???!  Or like to eat snacks crazy-late hours?  Please tell me there are more of you than just me 😉

2)  Work has been interesting, and like I mentioned recently, I’m learning how to roll with it,  We are ironing out new procedures, and my boss and I are learning the ropes of purchasing (*inhale, exhale*) and . .  yeah.  Otherwise, work is good.  I’m grateful for my co-workers who always keep things interesting and entertaining.  This picture was taken recently on one of my breaks outside at work.  I like to eat lunch or read a book on the picnic table outside.  Isn’t the sky in the picture just beautiful?!?!

0724141117

3)  My sisters and I have been working on our yard, and tonight we finished spreading grass seed and straw (YAYAYAY!!)  (We had some house construction done that left the yard all a wreck.) Tonight I successfully transplanted three hosta plants, and planted five geranium plants and a rose bush.  My front yard is already looking much better.

4)  Literally can’t stop reading a new book that my sister lent me.  It’s called “Dear Enemy.”  It’s a fiction, action, suspense novel by Jack Cavanaugh.  Seriously, it’s sooo good.  If you’re looking for a good book, well, you should definitely read that one.  I’m half-way through it.  I take it to work to read on my breaks.

5)  Our diocese made the 33 Days Consecration to Morning Glory last Friday, and our bishop consecrated the diocese to Mary.  We’re very blessed to have a bishop who honors Mary the Mother of God.

6)  This morning before work I trimmed these xenias from my flower patch.  I call it a patch cause it’s not a garden yet.  My goal is to eventually have a flower garden with mixes of xenias, lavender and herbs.  Currently it’s just a patch of flowers that I planted from seed earlier this summer.  I’m BEYOND excited that the seeds took off and produced flowers!

 

My xenias grown from seeed

My xenias grown from seed

7)   Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about how grateful I am for my parents.  They have their own quirks, “isms”, and faults like any person, but they are always so LOVING and GENEROUS, even when they are tired, or worn out.  They always put us kids first.  I hope one day to be half as good a parent as they’ve been to me & my siblings.

 

For more 7 Quick Takes, link back to Jen!

 

Keeping it Real,

 

-Rach

 

3 Responses to “7 Quick Takes (Vol. 5?)”

  1. beks21 August 22, 2014 at 1:03 pm #

    Definitely a night-owl! Unfortunately, working at 7am limits that ability, but if I were making my own schedule, late nights is where {when?} I’d be busy! 🙂

    • Rfog August 23, 2014 at 12:31 am #

      YAYAY!! A fellow night-owl 🙂 Last night I stayed up until . . . about 1:15 or so reading the book that I mentioned above. Not finished yet, but soon! Thanks for stopping by!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Quick Takes (Vol. TGIF!!) | Keeping-It-Real - September 5, 2014

    […]  A while back I mentioned my flower patch.  And do you recall how I mentioned that I planted marigolds, lavender and xenias?  Well, SOMEHOW (?????) my lavender has grown into […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

