Heartache, Sadness and HOPE

13 Aug

I find it kinda ironic that I wrote my previous post about comedy, when the day after I wrote that post was when I heard the news that the famous actor/comedian Robin Williams died his a tragic death.  I didn’t really know much about him, but I remember laughing so hard when he played in “Mrs. Doubtfire.”

Only God knows what was on Robin’s heart when he took his life.  It’s hearing about events like this in the news that bring me down so easily.  The news is full of depressing articles and updates on war & unrest.  And yet there is hope.

In moments of sadness and heartache, in a world full of unrest, I take a step back and think of eternity.  Despite the craziness of the world, and even craziness among our family or friends, there is something more.  There is hope.  There is a future.

GOD created us to love Him and serve Him and be happy with Him in Heaven.  That is what we have been made for.  The reason that there is sin and sadness in the world is because of our fallen nature.  We have a tendency to sin, which can only be overcome through GRACE.  It might even take us saying to God, moment by moment, “I offer this to you, Lord.  Help me carry my cross.  I trust in you.”  Little prayers like this are so powerful.  God loves it when we talk to Him and turn to Him for our needs.

Tonight I opened my Bible to the Psalms, my favorite book of the Bible.  I opened it and landed on Psalm 85.  The words were very fitting:

“Incline thy ear, O Lord, and hear me: for I am needy and poor.

Preserve my soul, for I am holy:

save your servant, O my God, that trusts in you.

Have mercy on me, O Lord, for I have cried to you all the day.

Give joy to the soul of your servant, for to you, O Lord, I have lifted up my soul.  

For you, O Lord, are sweet and mild, and plenteous in mercy to all that call upon you.

Give ear, O Lord, to my prayer:

and attend to the voice of my petition.

I have called upon you in the day of my trouble: because you have heard me.

There is none among the gods like unto  you, O Lord:

and there is none according to your works.

All the nations you have made will come and adore before you, O Lord: 

and they will glorify your name.

For you are great and do wonderful things: you are God alone.

Conduct me, O Lord, in your way, and I will walk in your truth: let my heart rejoice that it may fear your name.” (Psalm 85: 1-11)

There is always hope in the midst of great suffering. 

Jesus, nailed to the cross, knew that there is the Resurrection after death.

So too as Christians, in the midst of a poor and suffering world, we find hope in the midst of suffering.  God is with us.  He will never abandon us.

We have the choice: to follow Him to the Resurrection, or to abandon Him in our own selfishness in order to appease our own weaknesses.

Let us pick up our daily crosses (jobs that didn’t get done on time, irritable co-workers, job loss, poor health, sickness, low self-esteem, insufficient funds) and offer them up to the One Who Saves – GOD.

His grace is enough.

Let us follow HIM!

Love to you all, and please know that I’m thinking of you and praying for you!!

-Rach

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

