A Day In The Life Of My Car

28 Jul

My car is a trooper.  It’s traveled many, many miles in the past five years that I’ve owned it. We’ve traveled through five different states together and we’ve had our share of adventurous (think crazy) times together.  My car has gotten me safely (praise God!) to and from work every day as I sing to the radio and bang on my steering wheel which I use as my accompanying drum.  I affectionately call my car “Raphy” (pronounced Ray-fee) in honor of my special patron, Saint Raphael, patron of travelers.

 

My car and I are quite the team.  You see, my car gets me to and from work, and it takes me on all kinds of adventures.  Sometimes I’m just along the for the ride.  My car likes to surprise me, and in turn, I like to surprise my car 😉

 

Want to know what has happened with me and my car lately?

 

Last week, I was on my way back from a trip.  I had been driving for about five minutes when I pulled into a gas station and got out to pump the gas.  A guy on a motorcycle pulled up next to my car.  I heard an “excuse me ma’am.”  As I turned around, the guy proceeded to ask me, “Do you know you have a flat tire?”  ?!?!?!!?  *GASP* (me thinking “GUuuUHHH!”)

 

I immediately looked down to the closest tire, which was directly below my gas cap, and there to my dismay was a veerrry flat tire.  The guy on the motorcycle proved to be safe, helpful and kind.  He helped me fill my tire so that I could drive to an auto store to have the tired tested.  The tire didn’t pass the test, so I got a new tire. YAYAY!  There were a lot more details than that, but I’ll spare you the nitty gritty of me trying to navigate an unfamiliar city via GPS.

 

Moving on to my next adventure!

 

Last week I was in my car singing preeetttty loud with my windows rolled down.  That’s how I roll.  Uh huh.

 

I pulled my car up to a stop light and was still singing.  Rather loudly.  And soulfully. All of a sudden I heard a guy say, “Wow, that’s pretty good!”  (Just for the record, no fake-humility here, I like to sing but I don’t have a super voice.)  Anyway, I looked over and saw a guy in a van and replied, “Oh, thanks. haha (pointing to my steering wheel) this is my microphone and doubles as my drum.”  The guy said, “You should go on ‘America’s Got Talent.'”  And I playing along said, “Oh yeah, stayed tuned, you might just see me on there sometime soon.'”

 

I’m pretty sure my car was holding a laugh under it’s breath as this whole scenario played out.  I was laughing too.  It was pretty great.  And I got a good dose of confidence from it.

 

Have you ever had a funny/crazy/scary/adventure with your car?  If so, I’d love to hear it!!

 

 

4 Responses to “A Day In The Life Of My Car”

  1. LauraMarieForLife July 29, 2014 at 12:57 am #

    Bwahahahaha, oh my gosh the singing part is hilarious! That’s awesome. I love belting in the car too – hair down, especially after a week of work. Who cares what we sound like? 😉 I’m glad you were able to get the tire fixed! Thank goodness for the kind motorcyclist!

    • Rfog July 29, 2014 at 10:37 pm #

      Oh yeah, I could make a reeeallly funny video of all the singing and steering wheel drumming I’ve done in my car. Just sayin’! 😉

  2. Joan July 29, 2014 at 8:55 am #

    Rachel, I love that you had a conversation with the guy, too funny! 🙂

    • Rfog July 29, 2014 at 10:39 pm #

      Oh yeah, it was pretty hilarious!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

