I Believe In Love

25 Jul

There was a guy in college who held the esteem of many.  He was handsome, fun, intelligent, religious and steady.  He intrigued me by his easy-going, attractive personality.  

 

During my senior year, there was a Sadie Hawkins dance where instead of the guys asking the girls to be their dates, the girls asked the guys.  One afternoon I was on the phone with one of my sisters, and I was telling her about the upcoming Sadie Hawkins dance.  She knew I liked this aforementioned guy, so she encouraged me to be bold, get ahead of the game, and ask the guy to be my date to the dance.  

 

As all good stories go, he agreed to be my date.  I was excited beyond words.  

 

Well the evening came and we went out to dinner with a group of friends and then went bowling before the dance.  Everyone had a really good time and we all enjoyed each others’ company.  The friendship between me and this guy stayed as such – just a friend.  

 

The story didn’t end there.  Let me tell you something.  

 

One of the things that the cute guy told me,  I have never forgotten.  He told me to read the book from the title of this post called “I Believe In Love.”  I couldn’t NOT read this book.  I mean, come on.  This cute guy told me I should read a book about love, so I did!  (After our college graduation, I went back to my home town and cute guy entered the religious life. You know what they say, God takes the best and leaves us the rest!)

 

That summer, I started reading the book that he recommended and couldn’t put it down.  It was sooo good.  It wasn’t a novel.  It wasn’t an “educational” book, it wasn’t a comedy.  It was a book written about love for the layperson, for people like you & me.  

 

The words and the advice from the book stared me in the eyes and asked me questions that helped me deepen my understanding of love.  Love is sacrifice.  Love is doing what is right even when it’s hard.  Love is so much more than the surface-ish descriptions of love.  What this book taught me is that love is to carry my daily crosses with love.  (In reality that translates as being patient with my customers and co-workers, speaking and interacting with charity to my family and friends, practicing self-control when I’m angry, and forgiveness to my transgressors.)

 

Each of us has had some point in life where the road narrows and the road ahead looks dark and foreboding.  We feel lonely, discouraged, hungry, un-motivated, and maybe even bitter.  We might ask ourselves, “Why, Lord?”

 

It’s at that point that the Lord takes us by the hand and says, “Come, follow me.”  He begins to lead us along the road that leads to the cross on Calvary, to the place where we get the first taste of true sweetness and refreshment. The Lord helps us pick up our daily crosses to follow Him, who is Love Incarnate.  

 

We are never alone.  He walks with us the whole way.  He brings light to the darkness and truth to our hearts.  He alone satiates our thirst for success, freedom and satisfaction.

 

My love story has only just begun.  Every day I start anew, eyes toward Heaven, striving to practice true love, the love that can be so painful yet so rewarding.  I do believe in love.

 

Do you believe in love too?

 

If you want to read more about love, here’s where it’s at!

 

Love to you all, my dear readers!

 

 

2 Responses to “I Believe In Love”

  1. Morgan July 25, 2014 at 8:39 pm #

    This is beautiful, Rachel!!!

  2. LauraMarieForLife July 25, 2014 at 11:27 pm #

    I believe in love! And that book is just screaming my name. You may have convinced me to buy it 😉

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

