Celebrations, House Projects and Writers Block

8 Jul

Hello and Happy (belated) Independence Day!  Did any of you get the chance to watch fireworks from the top of a five-story building?  I did!  It was really neat cause the fireworks were so close, but far enough away that we were safe.

 

I had the day off for the 4th (yaya for long weekends!), so my sisters and I painted our kitchen.  We took the walls from yellow to a subtle/soft seafoam blue.  It’s hard to describe.  It looks trendy and classy. We all agreed that the new color is a good choice and suits our kitchen very well.

                                                  *   *   *   *   *   *

Have you been as busy as I have been this summer?  I tell ya . . . people used to tell me that the older you get, the faster time goes.  I thought “okay, I’ll take your word for it.”  And guess what?!?!  IT’S TRUE!  Time (almost literally) flies.  

 

Remember me telling you a few weeks ago that I was back into the blogging world?  Well, I have a confession to make.  I AM back to the blogging world, but I’m afraid to start writing.  The thoughts don’t flow from head to keyboard as well as I would like, so oftentimes, the blog posts just stay in my head or on the paper I jotted the topic down on. So, question to YOU: are there any topics that you want to hear about?  Anything I’ve written on that you want me to elaborate on?  Anything that you want to pick my brain on?  If so, comment below or write to me with your questions.  AND if not, no worries, I will do my best to entertain your reading fancy 😉

 

With that, before I sign off for the evening, I’d like to share with you a quote from my saint for the year: Saint Augustine.  I chose him because after pulling his “Confessions” off my bookshelf last summer and starting to read them, I realized how much he & I connected intellectually.  Here are some of his words that stood out to me: (in all actuality, I underlined so many passages in this book, that it was hard to choose which part to post, but here is the one I chose)

 

                “For what good to me was my ability, if I did not use it well?” – Saint Augustine, Confessions

 

 

One Response to “Celebrations, House Projects and Writers Block”

  1. Joan July 8, 2014 at 10:37 am #

    Rachel, I love that St. Augustine quote that you shared! I feel like I can relate to you with the whole writer’s block thing lately…it’s like I have so many things I would like to write about, but then when it comes to writing…freeze! Thanks for sharing that! 🙂

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

