The Gift of Friendship

21 Jun

Friends are those people who walk into your life and change you in such a profound way,

that you become a changed person and want to be better because of them.

Friendship is something that boggles my mind, in a good way.

I’ve been very blessed in my life with good friendships.

Here’s how I define friends:

Friends are those people who:

enjoy hanging out & spending quality time with each other

– help build each other’s dreams

– take a vested interest in the well-being of each other

– can be crazy goofy together

– give encouragement

– share and help each other get through struggles and hardships

– put each other in their place and call each other out 

don’t let each other get make bad decisions

– help each other grow in virtue & holiness

 

This afternoon I went to Confession at our local Chapel.

There was a priest in the Chapel who helped me find my current job.

When he saw me, he said, “Is that who I think it is?!”  And we caught up for a brief moment.

He’s the type of priest that deeply cares for his flock.

He has helped so many souls out of sin and into God’s grace.

It’s not very often that I see this priest friend,

but when we do see each other, we want to hear about the other and always pray for each other.

We care about each others’ spiritual and physical health.

He’s the kind of guy who would literally put his life on hold at a moment’s notice to help a person in need.

He is the most generous person I’ve ever known (aside from my parents.)

He makes me want to be a better person.

Last night I had the opportunity to hang out with some girl friends.

We caught up on work, relationships and life.  We sipped a fruity lemonade-type drink (compliments of Pinterest 🙂 ), and ate cheese fondue.

The spring breeze wafted about the room as we talked and laughed and shared each other’s company for five hours.

Friendship.

A few days ago, my boyfriend took me to a country concert.

He picked me up from my house and we navigated the crowded stadium hand-in-hand.

He opens the door for me, and treats me like a lady.

He watches out for me and takes care of me.

We take bike rides, play the Wii, go to Church, and volunteer together.

We talk about life and work and the ins and outs of the daily grind.

We pray for each other.

Friends encourage one another.

This morning I got a phone call, a post card and two texts, all un-solicited, from friends and family members who wanted to let me know how much they appreciated me.  My heart was deeply moved.  It was a good reminder that no good deed goes unnoticed.  These people are true friends who I enjoy spending time with, and sharing life with.

How blessed I am, and thankful for the Gift of Friendship!

5 Responses to “The Gift of Friendship”

  1. Joan June 22, 2014 at 4:08 pm #

    Such a lovely post, Rachel! I always love when friends or family call or text to simply say hello!!! 🙂

    • Rfog June 28, 2014 at 12:14 pm #

      Thanks, Joan! Yes, It’s always nice to receive a call or note. Personally, snail mail and hand-written notes have always been my fave, so when I got the post card in the mail, i was psyched! ❤ When I was younger, I had pen-pals and would get SO excited to receive something in the mail.

      • Joan June 29, 2014 at 3:21 pm #

        That’s so fun you had pen pals!!! 🙂 And yes, notes are so fun! 🙂

  2. Laura @ Life is Beautiful June 22, 2014 at 8:31 pm #

    Aw! Huggles!

    • Rfog June 28, 2014 at 12:15 pm #

      Had a wonderful time at your house! Your creativity and knack for decorating and cooking always inspires me 🙂

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

