Honoring Fathers

17 Jun

Hat’s off to all fathers, both biological and spiritual, who have touched my life in so many wonderful ways.

To the priests who have been courageous and outstanding examples

of heroic virtue, THANK YOU.

To my male friends who are loving husbands and fathers, thank you.

To MY DAD who makes me so proud, THANK YOU!  I proudly claim all bragging rights to my dad.

IMG_0054

(Me & my dad about 21 years ago!)

He has:

-been married to his bride (my mother) for going on 33 years

-raised (with my mom) eight children (myself included)

-volunteered his time and talent at home, at work, and on the side

-taught me everything I know (with the help of my mother, of course)

-believed in and encouraged me when I haven’t been able to believe in myself

-helped me realize that we’re not expected to be perfect (although that would be nice),

and that doing our very best with the grace we receive, is better than not trying at all.

-shown me how a man should treat a lady, and what to look for in my future husband through

his own example (faithful Catholic, gentlemanly, and thoughtful, just to name a few!)

1227131255

(This picture was taken over our Christmas vacation to FL – me, my dad & little bro.)

This Old Testament Bible passage is very appropriate for Father’s Day:

“With all your heart honor your father,

and do not forget the birth pangs of your mother,

Remember that through your parents you were born;

and what can you give back to them that equals their gift to you?” -Sirach 7:27-28

Let’s show our dads and spiritual fathers how much we love and appreciate them!

 

One Response to “Honoring Fathers”

  1. Dan July 1, 2014 at 1:21 pm #

    This was beautiful!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

