Not Alone Series: Masculinity

26 Feb

ImageWho is a great example of masculinity in your life (father, brother, uncle, priest, etc)? 

What is it about them that you love?
 
My grandpa & my dad are just two of the guys who are great examples of masculinity in my life.
 
 
They treat women with respect and honor.
They will give up their seat anyday for a woman.
They never swear or use foul language.  Ever.
 
They open the door for women, offer a helping hand, and help around the house.
My dad has an hour of Adoration every Wednesday morning during which he prays for the family.
My grandpa goes to daily Mass when possible.
Both men pray for our family & friends.
Men who pray are just.  Amazing.
 
My dad does house projects and works on the yard.
These are his signs of his love for our family.
He works and makes a living for my mom & younger sibs.
He writes us notes to say hello & tell us that he loves us.
He has a good sense of humor and knows how to have a good, clean, fun time.
 
My Grandpa stops by where I work and always says “Hello you cute thing”
and he brings me some little treat (a banana, a cookie, or a granola bar.)
He treats each and every family member with such honor and special care (there are 50+ relatives on one side!)
He loves babies and babies love him.
 
 
It’s the little things in life that oftentimes mean the most.
 
Both my dad & grandpa would rather be inconvenienced than to pass up an opportunity for chivalry.
(Just for the record: Going out to the garage for a task in sub zero temps is an act of chivalry.)
They shovel the snow, mow the grass and take out the trash.
More than that, they are thoughful.  Their listening ear, words of advice,
encouragement with successes and support in trials mean so much. 
 
Both of them have come over to my place to work on projects.  This fall they helped winterize the house. 
 
 Oh yeah, my boss is quite a man too.  Once we had someone stop into the office who looked a little shady.  My boss was on his way out of the office, so he had one of my co-workers (another guy) come over to hang out around my work area for my protection.  It’s really cute cause his wife will call him occasionally during the day and at the end of every conversation he says, “I love you.”  (Be still my beating heart!)
 
Woot!  A big shout out to all the gents out there who emulate masculinity!!
 
God be with you and may Mary keep you.
 
 
Link up with Morgan & Jen for today’s topic of Masculinity and leave them some love in the comments.
 
 
Until next time, keep it real 🙂
 
 
One Response to “Not Alone Series: Masculinity”

  1. beks21 February 26, 2014 at 11:33 am #

    Sounds like you have a great heritage and wonderful examples of masculinity! I love dads and grandpas 🙂

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

