Valentine’s Day

18 Feb

NAS pic

Valentine’s Day

What are your thoughts about Valentine’s Day? Do you enjoy it? Loathe it? Not even realize it’s a special day? Do you celebrate it in any way?
Valentine’s Day is purely a marketing ploy that annually steals the thunder from St. Valentine.  Just kidding.  Well, kinda.
Okay, here’s (ignore the bad grammar.) my real thoughts about Valentine’s Day:
In the past (meaning the majority of my life until roughly college or so) I’ve enjoyed Valentine’s Day.  Then hit college the woes of Valetine’s Day and wondering if I would get a note from a secret admirer, or any daring young man feeling bold enough to make the effort.  (insert wistful sigh.)  It was during this time that Valentine’s Day became a love/hate relationship.  Some years I would get a sweet little note from an anonymous guy.  One year I got a reeeally cool valentine that was a poem and was specifically written about me, my bicycle, leather jacket. . . yeah.  It was legit.  Not copy & pasted, but thought out and put to a poem. That was awesome.  One year I got a hand-delivered letter from a guy who wrote to various close girl friends – and by these notes, despite the fact that he wrote to multiple girls, we saw his gesture as more thoughtful and gentlemanly in that he wanted all of us to know that he appreciated our friendship.  That was his intention and that was cool.  Some years, I didn’t get anything from any guy friends.  My mom always made a special effort to send me a huge valentine letter with my name written like this, “To the Most adorable girl on campus” (yes, she is slightly biased 😉 ) Which always brightened my day.  My dad and siblings wrote valentines too and my mom would include them in the letter.  So, whether or not I received any special attention from guys, I always got valentines from my family and friends.  And that was HUGELY SPECIAL.
In recent years, it’s become harder and harder to hear about and see other women receiving flowers, notes, cards, chocolate, etc. This year I tried really hard to make myself believe that all the hype about Valentine’s Day was merely a marketing ploy.  It worked only slightly.  This year, I was strugglin’.  And even refused to get on Facebook.  Yep, it’s hard.  However, I went out for dinner with one of my sisters and a couple of our close girl friends.  We had a really nice, fancy dinner at an Asian/sushi restaurant (and blissfully tried to not to notice that the rest of the place was filled with romantic couples) and came back to my house afterwards for wine, chocolate and a chic flick.  And we had a blast!  So thankful for my fellow single ladies.  They rock and make my singlehood so much better!
For more on Valetine’s day, link up with Jen & Morgan!
2 Responses to “Valentine’s Day”

  1. Jen @ Jumping in Puddles February 18, 2014 at 5:36 pm #

    yea… I do have to say I felt like everyone was in competition with one another about who got the best flowers, chocolates, insert another great gift but posting allll the pictures on FB. That was a bit annoying, not gonna lie.

    But! I am glad you ended up having a wonderful evening with friends, anyway! Wine and chocolate?! Yes, please!

  2. Joan February 19, 2014 at 10:35 am #

    I’m glad you had a nice Valentine’s Day overall! That’s fun you went to a sushi place, I love me some sushi! 🙂 It is so crazy to see, though, like you said how the stores completely go “V Day” on us, and it’s nearly impossible to not be at least slightly taken aback from seeing life-sized teddy bears at the end of a shopping aisle! It’s like…what on earth does that have to do with St. Valentine?!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

