Christmas & New Year

4 Jan

Dear Friends,

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!  The Christmas season had me so busy with traveling, making food, visiting with family and friends that my little blog here got set to the side for a while.

The past couple weeks have been crazy busy!

Here’s what I’ve been up to for the past month:

Set up my Christmas decor with my sisters: (I’m sorry the pictures are kinda grainy.)

1214131614 1224130107

Work party, where, by the way, I went by myself and had an absolute BLAST!  A cute dress (stylish and modest = double win), heels and a couple hair flowers always my self-confidence a good boost.  At the work party we played a pool tournanment.  I literally play pool once a year at our work party and every year I get a little better . . . ha!  This year I my teammate and I played pretty well and beat a team that I thought out-skilled us – SCORE!

Traveling to visit family – my parents, and some of my siblings and I drove a few hours away to visit my oldest brother and his family the weekend before Christmas.  It was a lot of fun and we had our annual sibling gift exchange.  It’s hilarious because for the past, oh, 5 years or so one of my brothers and one sister-in-law had each other for the gift exchange.  That, or one of them has the other.  And this year did not break the tradition.  We all had a good laugh as the guessing who had who took place, and then we came to realize that my brother had my sister-in-law . . . again!  It was great  🙂  My nieces and nephew are just adorable.  One of my sisters and I slept on the bunkbeds in the girls’ room.  The girls were just beaming that we, their aunts, got to share their room with them.  We had a few snuggle parties and story times.  My nephew got a “built your own dinosaur” kit that I helped him work on.  While working on this project together he told me “This is a lot of fun, even though it’s a lot of work, cause if it’s a lot of work, it means it’s fun.”  How cute and thoughtfully deep is that?!?!?  That kid is just adorable.

Cookie-baking – Here are pictures of the cookie creations:

1217132134 1217132202

Christmas festivities – We had Christmas Eve with my mom’s side.  Siblings, aunts, uncles, grandpa and all.  Then midnight Mass at the cathedral.  The midnight Mass is so beautiful.  Sorry no pics 😦  Christmas Day was pretty low-key.  My grandpa came over, as is tradition, and we had a nice meal and a fire in the fireplace and opened presents.  And I took a nap 🙂

First vacation to the sunny state – traveled with my parents and a three siblings.  We stayed with one of my sisters who is a nurse there.  We saw a TON of tropical birds (pelicans, seagulls, an owl (!), white egrets, sandhill cranes, and a variety of birds that I’m not sure the names of.  We also saw a crabs, lizards and dolphins.  Here is a picture of a baby gator we saw on the way home (he/she was in a tank.)  I have more pictures that are on my camera, but I don’t have my camera with me, so I will post those pictures next week.  I would have loved to see an alligator in the wild, but we didn’t see one out and about.

Here’s a picture of the 13-foot aligator that I made in the sand on the last day at the beach: 0102141312c

Here’s the ocean and a couple other sand creations.  I don’t think words can express how much I loVE the sand.  I love walking in the sand, building sand creations, and looking for shells.  It’s so soothing.  My mom and I found a bunch of really pretty shells (pictures will be posted later this week.)

12190317480102141515a 0102141513b

 

While on our vacation my family and I talked about goals for 2014.  I think I will wait and write that post later. . . we got back home about 3:30 a.m. this morning and I’m feeling tired again. 😦

 

On vacation I even got to visit the Our Lady of the Angels Monastery in Alabama (a state I hadn’t been to before, and which was on my bucket-list.  Score for checking two states (FL & AL) off my “need to visit” list!

 

PS!!!  I thought about you all and prayed for you all on my trip.

 

Have a great weekend!!!!!

 

 

 

 

3 Responses to “Christmas & New Year”

  1. Joan January 5, 2014 at 7:09 pm #

    Sounds like you’ve had a fun Christmas/New Years’ break, yay!! 🙂 Your work party dress sounds like something I would have totally loved…hair flowers are such a fun accent!

    • Rfog January 5, 2014 at 9:35 pm #

      Yeah, I found the flowers for less than $1 at H&M. They are navy blue and go well with a variety of outfits, and yes, SUPER fun to wear 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Breaktime | Keeping-It-Real - January 13, 2014

    […] I will be blogging when I can.  In my last post I promised to post more pictures from my vacation.  I am sorry I have not yet done that – […]

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

