NAS: Surviving Events/Parties as a Singleton

19 Nov
Surviving Events/Parties as a Singleton
The holidays are coming up! Family parties, friend gatherings… and you’re single. How do you “cope”? Any tips or tricks?
This is the question of the year: “How to survive events/parties as a Singleton?”
Quite frankly, for the past several years I’ve had quite the difficult time around the holiday season.
Especially at family get-togethers and the annual Christmas work party.
Last year I brought my older sister with me to the company Christmas party, and we enjoyed the food, billiards, and a lively chat with the people who were at our table.
Family Thanksgiving and Christmas parties are almost just as tough as a single.
One of my well-meaning uncles used to always ask “How is your love life?”
To which I wanted to reply but didn’t:
“It’s non-existent, but thanks for asking”
– or –
“you mean the lack thereof?”
He doesn’t ask me that question anymore . . .
I know I shouldn’t let that question bother me, but it does.  I just remind myself that my uncle wants the best for me and that’s why he asks about my personal life, even though I get awkward and probably blush a hundred shades of red (one of my greatest talents 😉  )
So:
How to survive being single during the holidays?
1.  Hang out with other single friends (of course, don’t let your dating/married friends get left behind.)
2.  Play Christmas music on the piano and making homemade cards with single friends.
3.  Play board games and cards at family gatherings.  Join in the games and you will forget your cares in the laughter and fun that ensues.
4.  My last tip, but certainly not least, is to spend some time in prayer.  Prayer always helps me re-direct and reminds me that God, in His own perfect timing, will grant me the desires of my heart.
For more tips on how to survive events and parties as a Singleton, head on over to Jen’s and Morgan’s!
4 Responses to “NAS: Surviving Events/Parties as a Singleton”

  1. rdgal37 November 19, 2013 at 11:25 pm #

    Great post! I especially loved number two, that sounds like a fun time having a card making party/playing some piano! 🙂

    • Rfog November 20, 2013 at 11:15 pm #

      Thanks you! This season I’ve already ordered Christmas piano music from the library to start practicing early. Also, one of my friends and I enjoy card-making, so we are planning for an evening to make Christmas cards. It’s super fun and relaxing 🙂

  2. Nikki November 21, 2013 at 10:21 pm #

    Great post. I haven’t made home-made cards in years, I had a real kick about doing them for a few years and people actually liked them.

    • Rfog November 24, 2013 at 10:40 pm #

      Card-making is a lot of fun and a good creative outlet. I’ve also found more meaning with hand-made cards when I have the time to make them. Mine aren’t super fancy, but are simple and fun. I will try to post pictures once I have some made!

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

