NAS: Patience

28 Oct

 

Do you find yourself becoming really impatient, or struggling with your life to “really” begin? If so, how do you combat it? Do you do anything? How can we support one another in this area?

Being a girl, I most definitely struggle with patience.  Whether it’s getting stuck behind a slow driver in rush hour traffic, waiting for my web browser to load, or watching the water in the tea kettle come to a boil, I lack patience.

I want what I want and I want it NOW.  I want to be: More this. More that. Less this.  Less that.  And I want everything to change in an instant.  (*Sigh . . . .*)

Am I impatient about my life “really” beginning?  YES!  I am, however, living my current vocation as a single 20-something-year-old.  I know that I want to get married and have a family of my own someday, but that’s not God’s plan for me RIGHT NOW.

Hence, I spend my days at my full-time office job, or when I’m not at work, I oftentimes get together with friends, read books, take a walk or run, and I overall try to become more and more the version of myself that will be most pleasing to God . . . . . and my future spouse.

How do I “combat” impatience?  Through a variety of ways, actually.  I keep myself busy and have a pretty busy schedule, and I do quite a bit of volunteering.  Recently I’ve volunteered at the local 4o Days for Life tent.  I also teach CCD (religious education) once a week. I visit my Grandpa who lives nearby, I keep in touch with my long-distance friends, I work in my yard, and make an effort (albeit ever-so-small) to meet new people.  (Start simple and make small talk with the cashier at the grocery store.  Smile at a stranger you pass in the mall.  Wave to your neighbors.  Every little bit counts!)

Another “combat” method is prayer.  When I don’t know how to handle a situation, when I get frustrated, when I’m at wits end – whatever the situation may be – I pray.  And, I try not to forget to THANK God for the blessings in my life.  Something that is VERY difficult for me is Keeping an Attitude of Gratitude.  When we begin to count the blessings in our lives, we realize how truly blessed we currently are, even though Mr. Right isn’t here at this very moment.   (Yes, easier said than done, true.)

Some of you may be wondering why you haven’t met Your Man yet.  God may be working in his life in order to have him more ready for marriage when he meets you.  Just food for thought.

The most effective way I think that we single ladies can support each other in our current single life, is to affirm each other and pray for each other.  Have you ever noticed how you feel after someone gives you compliment or simply affirms you for who you are?  You feel like a million bucks, right?  Affirm and encourage your single friends.  And,  yes.  Pray for each other.  Maybe pray one Memorare every day for the rest of the NAS readers and our future spouses.  (Dude!  How cool if we could all unite through prayer for each other and our future spouses?!?!?  Way cool.)

Praying for you ladies tonight.  Keep calm, dress up, make small talk at the grocery store, and eat comfort food (yogurt and banana with a side of ice cream anyone?)

Head over to Morgan’s and Jen’s for more on the NAS!

4 Responses to “NAS: Patience”

  1. rdgal37 October 28, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    Hello! Awesome post 🙂 “Affirm each other and pray for each other…” – such great advice! I look forward to reading future/past posts of yours! 🙂

    • Rfog October 28, 2013 at 6:04 pm #

      Hello! It’s good to “meet” you! Thank you for stopping by! I’m looking forward to sharing more blog posts with each other in the future 🙂

  2. Natalie G. @ "Here I Am" October 29, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

    Ahh I really like that idea of praying a Memorare for all the ladies involved in the NAS!!

    • Rfog October 29, 2013 at 6:19 pm #

      Hi Natalie! Thank you for stopping by! I’m glad you like the idea of praying a Memorare a day for all the NAS ladies and their future spouses. Mary is one of my favorite intercessors ❤

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

