Your Mom Is Wiser Than You Think

17 Sep

The memory is very clear to me.  I was about 17 or 18 years old, and my mother was giving me a piece of her mind, and BOY, was I UPSET!

I was immature, and I didn’t want to hear her words.

Forcing back tears, I bit my tongue and listened to her wisdom, despite the fact that I wanted to run and cry in the privacy of my room.

Without wanting to admit it, I knew that she was right.

A few days passed and my anger stilled.  I thought about the words my mom had spoken – words of reason.  logic.  common sense.

The words emulated love, even though the tone at the time was harsh. 

My mother, wanting THE BEST for me, had spoken words that were hard for me to hear.  Even harder to admit to myself that she was right and I was wrong.

She was speaking words that were hard for herself to speak, because it was painful to put her teenage daughter (me) in my place.  Love hurts.

Those words, though I forget what exactly they were and what the circumstance, have taught me to appreciate my mothers’ wisdom.

Recently I came upon a quote that my mother sent to me and my siblings a couple years ago.  This quote reminds me of how mothers tend to have a certain wisdom, and how blessed I am to have a mother that encourages and affirms me, even through trials and hardships.

It reads thus:

“When you come to serve the Lord, prepare yourself for trials.  Be sincere of heart and steadfast, undisturbed in times of adversity.  Cling to Him, forsake Him not; thus, will your future be great.  Accept what befalls you; in crushing misfortune be patient.  For, in fire gold is tested and worthy men in the crucible of humiliation.  Trust God and He will help you.  Make straight your ways and hope in Him.  You who fear the Lord, wait for His mercy.  Turn not away, lest you fall.” – Sirach 2:1-7

Before tuning out your mother, wait and listen to her words.  She may be wiser than you think.  The taste is initially bitter.  But once you chew on the words for a bit, they become sweet and I can guarantee you, you will be coming back for second and third helpings.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

