The Faith Of A Six-Year-Old

10 Jul

Several weeks ago I was at Mass on a Saturday evening.  

 

During the Lord’s Prayer a young boy, between the ages of 5 & 7, raised a hand in prayer.  

 

It looked like this little boy was talking directly to Jesus.  I wouldn’t be surprised if he was.  

 

The image of this faith-filled little boy struck me and has left a vivid memory with me:

 

That little boy definitely had the faith of a child.  The Lord asks that we approach HIM in prayer with the faith of a little child.  How often do I pray in Mass or at home with such a lively faith – with such a hopeful confidence?

 

Just this past weekend, I was at Sunday morning Mass.  My six-year-old nephew was kneeling next to me.  When the communion song began, I opened the hymnal to sing along.  

 

The hymn was titled “Take and Eat.”  My nephew sang along the whole time.  His voice was strong and clear.  

 

Even though he has not yet made his First Holy Communion, my nephew knows that Jesus becomes present on the altar at Mass.  

 

His young, sweet voice increased MY faith.  This little nephew of mine, who has not yet been able to take and eat the Body and Blood of Jesus, inspired me to deepen my FAITH.  

 

It was a humbling moment.  How often do I allow my heart to be overwhelmed with Faith?  Do I prepare myself to receive Jesus Truly Present with a lively faith, or do I doubt His love for me, questioning my faith, questioning God’s mercy?  Do I allow God’s grace to transform me and to make my soul anew?  

 

The faith in little children makes my heart pitter-pat.  Ahhh, if I could but increase my faith to be like that of a six-year-old!

 

 

Leave a Reply

A Drop in the Ocean

"We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop." ~ Blessed Mother Teresa

The Veil of Chastity

Wisdom and Hope For Single Girls!

Held By His Pierced Hands

The only life worth living is a life worth dying for.

